GardasilNarrow moat

Merck & Co. (MRK) — moat facet

Gardasil fell from $8.9 billion to $5.2 billion in two years when China stopped buying, and American sales are now the larger half.

Gardasil is Merck's second largest product and its most damaged. The HPV vaccine family, Gardasil and Gardasil 9, sold $5,233 million in 20251, about 8.0% of Merck's sales2, down 39% from $8,583 million3. In the second quarter of 2026 it sold $1,169 million, up 4%4.

Gardasil share of Merck sales (%)11.6%202111.6%202214.8%202313.4%20248.0%2025Calculated from Merck Forms 10-K FY2023 and FY2025, product sales and total sales
Gardasil is now a smaller share of Merck than in 2021.

What is inside is a vaccine that protects against the human papillomavirus strains behind cervical and other cancers. Gardasil 9 is indicated in the United States for a two-dose regimen in adolescents aged 9 to 14 and three doses for those aged 15 to 455. Merck pays a 7% royalty on American Gardasil sales to one third party until December 20286.

The history is a rise and a break. Gardasil sold $3,737 million in 2019 and $3,938 million in 2020 on the continuing basis7, then $5,673 million in 2021, $6,897 million in 2022 and a peak of $8,886 million in 202389. China drove most of the growth and then most of the fall: international sales went from $6,803 million in 2023 to $2,592 million in 202510.

How it is paid: vaccines are sold primarily to physicians, wholesalers, distributors and government entities11, and a large component of adolescent vaccine sales goes to the CDC's Vaccines for Children programme12. In China, sales went through a single distributor, Zhifei13.

Profitability is not disclosed by product; vaccines sit inside the Pharmaceutical segment and its roughly 78.7% segment margin14. A vaccine plant is expensive to run below capacity, so a 39% fall in volume matters more than the same fall in a pill.

Growth now depends on the American market and on China. American sales rose from $2,083 million in 2023 to $2,641 million in 202515. Merck expects Chinese Gardasil sales not to increase materially in 202616, and it began only limited shipments under a revised contract in the second quarter17. The American patent is listed to 202818.

The China fall was visible before the pause. Merck's sales in China were $4,378 million in 2021, $5,191 million in 2022 and $6,802 million in 20231920, then fell to $5,494 million in 202421; Merck contracted doses to Zhifei in the latter part of 2024 while channel inventory stayed above normal levels22. A shareholder class action now alleges that Merck's statements about demand for Gardasil in China were materially false and misleading23.

Gardasil also carries legal history in America. In the product-liability litigation over the vaccine, the court granted summary judgment for Merck in 16 bellwether cases on 11 March 2025, a decision the plaintiffs have appealed24. The American franchise has survived that challenge so far; its larger risks are the schedule and the 2028 patent date.

The outlook is a smaller, steadier franchise. International Gardasil sales, $2,592 million in 202525, are the swing figure; they would have to recover toward $4 billion for Gardasil to regain its old role, and another year near $2.5 billion settles it as a mainly Western product.

Moat trajectory: Narrowing

Down 39% in 2025; +4% in Q2 2026 on European and Asian demand.

The number that tests this moat
Reported
Gardasil sales, latest quarter
$1,169M, +4% (Q2 2026)

The damaged franchise's recovery; international sales stuck near $2.5bn a year would make it a mainly Western product.

Source: Merck Q2 2026 results release ↗
References
  1. ReportedThe HPV vaccine family, Gardasil and Gardasil 9, sold $5,233 million in 2025, about 8.0% of Merck's sales, down 39% from $8,583 million.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - vaccines and China: Gardasil, the childhood and pneumococcal vaccines, and sales in China. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  2. Moat Explorer calcThe HPV vaccine family, Gardasil and Gardasil 9, sold $5,233 million in 2025, about 8.0% of Merck's sales, down 39% from $8,583 million.
    Moat Explorer calculation from Merck's reported sales, segment and financial statement figures ($ millions unless stated). Lines 2025: Keytruda 31,641 + Keytruda Qlex 40 = 31,681; other pharmaceutical 58,142 - 31,681 - 5,233 = 21,228; Animal Health 6,354; other revenue 515; total 31,681 + 5,233 + 21,228 + 6,354 + 515 = 65,011. 2024: 29,482; 57,400 - 29,482 - 8,583 = 19,335. 2023: 53,583 - 25,011 - 8,886 = 19,686. 2022: 52,005 - 20,937 - 6,897 = 24,171. 2021: 42,754 - 17,186 - 5,673 = 19,895. Everything else 2025: 65,011 - 31,681 = 33,330. Keytruda share of sales: 11,084 / 39,121 = 28.3% (2019, continuing basis); 17,186 / 48,704 = 35.3% (2021); 25,011 / 60,115 = 41.6% (2023); 31,681 / 65,011 = 48.7% (2025); Q2 2026 8,366 / 16,607 = 50.4%. Keytruda and Gardasil Q2 2026 (8,366 + 1,169) / 16,607 = 9,535 / 16,607 = 57.4%. Qlex 463 / 8,366 = 5.5%. Keytruda growth: 31,641 / 29,482 - 1 = 7.3% (2025); 29,482 / 25,011 - 1 = 17.9% (2024); 31,641 / 17,186 = 1.84, compound (1.84)^(1/4) - 1 = 16.5% a year; 31,641 / 11,084 = 2.85 (2019-2025). US share of Keytruda 18,829 / 31,641 = 59.5%. International Keytruda 12,812 / 11,610 - 1 = 10.4%; US Keytruda 18,829 / 17,872 - 1 = 5.4%. US Keytruda share of total sales 18,829 / 65,011 = 29.0%. Royalty: 2.5% x 31,681 = 792; 6.5% x 31,681 = 2,059. Gardasil US royalty 7% x 2,641 = 185. Winrevair royalty 22% x 1,443 = 317; 22% x 419 = 92; Winrevair Q2 2026 588 x 4 = 2,352, 22% x 2,352 = 517. Segment margins: Pharmaceutical 45,754 / 58,142 = 78.7% (2025); Q2 2026 11,612 / 14,760 = 78.7% (recast basis). Animal Health 2,131 / 6,354 = 33.5% (2025); 1,938 / 5,877 = 33.0% (2024); 1,737 / 5,625 = 30.9% (2023); 1,963 / 5,550 = 35.4% (2022); 1,950 / 5,568 = 35.0% (2021); Q2 2026 636 / 1,775 = 35.8%. Unallocated research 14,987 / 58,142 = 25.8%; Animal Health research 448 / 6,354 = 7.1%. Animal Health segment profit 2,131 / 45,754 = 4.7% of Pharmaceutical. Gardasil: international 2,592 / 6,158 - 1 = -57.9%; US 2,641 / 2,083 - 1 = 26.8%; share 5,233 / 65,011 = 8.0%; share of sales 2021 5,673 / 48,704 = 11.6%, 2022 6,897 / 59,283 = 11.6%, 2023 8,886 / 60,115 = 14.8%, 2024 8,583 / 64,168 = 13.4%; Q2 2026 1,169 x 4 = 4,676. Vaccines H1 2026 2,314 + 2,361 = 4,675; H1 2025 2,607 + 2,370 = 4,977; 4,675 / 4,977 - 1 = -6.1%. Childhood vaccines growth 2,368 / 2,241 - 1 = 5.7%; 2,485 / 2,368 - 1 = 4.9%; 2,451 / 2,485 - 1 = -1.4%. Pneumococcal: Pneumovax 166 / 893 - 1 = -81%; 825 + 759 + 166 = 1,750; 1,750 / 893 = 2.0; (825 + 759) / 166 = 9.5; Capvaxive + Vaxneuvance 759 + 825 = 1,584; 1,584 / 6,494 = 24.4% of Prevnar. Animal Health: livestock 3,896 / 6,354 = 61.3%; livestock growth 3,300 / 3,295 - 1 = 0.2%, 3,337 / 3,300 - 1 = 1.1%, 3,462 / 3,337 - 1 = 3.7%, 3,896 / 3,462 - 1 = 12.5%; companion 2,458 / 2,415 - 1 = 1.8%, 2,458 / 2,273 - 1 = 8.1%; companion excluding Bravecto 2,458 - 1,100 = 1,358; rest of Animal Health 6,354 - 1,100 = 5,254; Bravecto 359 / 335 - 1 = 7%. Segment 6,354 / 5,877 - 1 = 8.1%; 5,625 / 5,568 - 1 = 1.0%; Q2 2026 1,775 / 1,646 - 1 = 7.8%; compound (6,354 / 5,568)^(1/4) - 1 = 3.4% a year; share 6,354 / 65,011 = 9.8%; 6,354 / 31,681 = 0.20 of Keytruda; 6,354 / 9,467 = 67% of Zoetis; Zoetis 9,467 / 9,256 - 1 = 2.3%. Competitors: Keytruda 31,641 / Opdivo 10,049 = 3.1. Geography: US 36,510 / 65,011 = 56.2%; China 1,939 / 6,802 - 1 = -71%; China share 4,378 / 48,704 = 9.0% (2021), 6,802 / 60,115 = 11.3% (2023), 5,494 / 64,168 = 8.6% (2024), 1,939 / 65,011 = 3.0% (2025); other regions 65,011 - 36,510 - 14,580 - 2,711 - 1,939 = 9,271. Wholesaler receivables 22% + 21% + 13% = 56% (2025); 21 + 21 + 13 = 55 (2024); 21 + 20 + 14 = 55 (2023). Januvia and Janumet: 3,324 + 1,964 = 5,288 (2021); 2,189 + 1,177 = 3,366 (2023); 1,334 + 935 = 2,269 (2024); 1,604 + 940 = 2,544 (2025). Newer products Q2 2026: 588 + 271 + 204 + 184 = 1,247; 1,247 / 8,366 = 14.9%. Bridion 1,841 / 4 = 460 a quarter. Other pharmaceutical Q2 2026 14,760 - 8,366 - 1,169 = 5,225; Q2 2025 14,050 - 7,956 - 1,126 = 4,968; 5,225 / 4,968 - 1 = 5.2%; 2025 share 21,228 / 65,011 = 32.7%. Research: 30,531 / 60,115 = 50.8% of sales (2023). Charges 2026 9.0 + 5.7 = 14.7 bn; per share 3.62 + 2.31 = 5.93. Ohtuvayre 204 x 4 = 816; 12,100 / 816 = 14.8. Tax guidance midpoints (23.5 + 24.5) / 2 = 24.0; (35.0 + 36.0) / 2 = 35.5. Balance sheet: net debt end-2025 2,589 + 46,750 - 14,565 = 34,774; end-2024 2,649 + 34,462 - 13,242 - 447 = 23,422; end-2023 1,372 + 33,683 - 6,841 - 252 = 27,962; 30 June 2026 2,825 + 51,081 - 6,849 - 292 = 46,765, cash and short-term investments 6,849 + 292 = 7,141; net debt to equity 34,774 / 52,606 = 0.66; 46,765 / 41,933 = 1.1. Net income 2023-2025 365 + 17,117 + 18,254 = 35,736. Valuation: year-end 2025 market value 261.26 bn / net income 18.254 bn = 14.3; free cash flow 2025 16,472 - 4,112 = 12,360; 12,360 / 365,090 = 3.4%. Trailing twelve months to June 2026: sales 65,011 - 31,335 + 32,893 = 66,569; net income 18,254 - 9,506 - 5,575 = 3,173. EPS guidance midpoints (5.00 + 5.15) / 2 = 5.075; (5.04 + 5.16) / 2 = 5.10; (2.66 + 2.76) / 2 = 2.71. Protection from 2026: 2043 - 2026 = 17 years; 2028 - 2026 = 2 years. Year-end P/E = market value / net income: 147.55 / 4.442 = 33.2 (2015); 162.31 / 3.920 = 41.4 (2016); 153.30 / 2.394 = 64.0 (2017); 198.69 / 6.220 = 31.9 (2018); 231.56 / 9.843 = 23.5 (2019); 206.96 / 7.067 = 29.3 (2020); 193.59 / 13.049 = 14.8 (2021); 281.30 / 14.519 = 19.4 (2022); 276.26 / 0.365 = 757 (2023); 251.65 / 17.117 = 14.7 (2024); 261.26 / 18.254 = 14.3 (2025); 365.09 / 3.173 = 115.1 (TTM). Return on average equity 2025: 18,254 / ((52,606 + 46,313) / 2) = 18,254 / 49,460 = 36.9%. Gross profit 2025 65,011 - 16,382 = 48,629; 48,629 / 65,011 = 74.8%; royalty 792 / 16,382 = 4.8% of cost of sales. Keytruda increase 2021-2025 31,681 - 17,186 = 14,495; sales increase 65,011 - 48,704 = 16,307. US sales 36,510 / 28,480 - 1 = 28%. Pharmaceutical margin 2021 30,977 / 42,754 = 72.5%. Livestock less companion 3,295 - 2,273 = 1,022 (2021); 3,896 - 2,458 = 1,438 (2025). Prevnar 6,494 / Vaxneuvance 825 = 7.9. Animal Health 2025 6,354 against Keytruda franchise Q2 2026 8,366 - growth rates and changes. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Merck's Forms 10-K and 10-Q, results releases, the Bristol Myers Squibb, Pfizer and Zoetis 10-Ks and market data; operands shown in the source line.
  3. ReportedThe HPV vaccine family, Gardasil and Gardasil 9, sold $5,233 million in 2025, about 8.0% of Merck's sales, down 39% from $8,583 million.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - vaccines and China: Gardasil, the childhood and pneumococcal vaccines, and sales in China. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  4. ReportedIn the second quarter of 2026 it sold $1,169 million, up 4%.
    Merck second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1 - sales by product and pipeline highlights. — Q2 2026 · publ. 4 August 2026 · source ↗
  5. ReportedGardasil 9 is indicated in the United States for a two-dose regimen in adolescents aged 9 to 14 and three doses for those aged 15 to 45.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - vaccines and China: Gardasil, the childhood and pneumococcal vaccines, and sales in China. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  6. ReportedMerck pays a 7% royalty on American Gardasil sales to one third party until December 2028.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - patents, exclusivity dates, biosimilar competition and royalties. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  7. ReportedGardasil sold $3,737 million in 2019 and $3,938 million in 2020 on the continuing basis, then $5,673 million in 2021, $6,897 million in 2022 and a peak of $8,886 million in 2023.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2021 - the Organon spin-off, the Acceleron acquisition and 2019-2020 sales restated to continuing operations. — FY2021 · publ. February 2022 · source ↗
  8. ReportedGardasil sold $3,737 million in 2019 and $3,938 million in 2020 on the continuing basis, then $5,673 million in 2021, $6,897 million in 2022 and a peak of $8,886 million in 2023.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - vaccines and China: Gardasil, the childhood and pneumococcal vaccines, and sales in China. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  9. ReportedGardasil sold $3,737 million in 2019 and $3,938 million in 2020 on the continuing basis, then $5,673 million in 2021, $6,897 million in 2022 and a peak of $8,886 million in 2023.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2023 - product sales for 2021-2023, the Prometheus, Daiichi Sankyo and Imago charges, impairments, receivables concentration and the Zhifei distribution arrangement in China. — FY2023 · publ. February 2024 · source ↗
  10. ReportedChina drove most of the growth and then most of the fall: international sales went from $6,803 million in 2023 to $2,592 million in 2025.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - vaccines and China: Gardasil, the childhood and pneumococcal vaccines, and sales in China. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  11. ReportedHow it is paid: vaccines are sold primarily to physicians, wholesalers, distributors and government entities, and a large component of adolescent vaccine sales goes to the CDC's Vaccines for Children programme.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1A risk factors, patents and exclusivity, government pricing, vaccine policy and legal proceedings. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  12. ReportedHow it is paid: vaccines are sold primarily to physicians, wholesalers, distributors and government entities, and a large component of adolescent vaccine sales goes to the CDC's Vaccines for Children programme.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1A risk factors, patents and exclusivity, government pricing, vaccine policy and legal proceedings. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  13. ReportedIn China, sales went through a single distributor, Zhifei.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2023 - product sales for 2021-2023, the Prometheus, Daiichi Sankyo and Imago charges, impairments, receivables concentration and the Zhifei distribution arrangement in China. — FY2023 · publ. February 2024 · source ↗
  14. Moat Explorer calcProfitability is not disclosed by product; vaccines sit inside the Pharmaceutical segment and its roughly 78.7% segment margin.
    Moat Explorer calculation from Merck's reported sales, segment and financial statement figures ($ millions unless stated). Lines 2025: Keytruda 31,641 + Keytruda Qlex 40 = 31,681; other pharmaceutical 58,142 - 31,681 - 5,233 = 21,228; Animal Health 6,354; other revenue 515; total 31,681 + 5,233 + 21,228 + 6,354 + 515 = 65,011. 2024: 29,482; 57,400 - 29,482 - 8,583 = 19,335. 2023: 53,583 - 25,011 - 8,886 = 19,686. 2022: 52,005 - 20,937 - 6,897 = 24,171. 2021: 42,754 - 17,186 - 5,673 = 19,895. Everything else 2025: 65,011 - 31,681 = 33,330. Keytruda share of sales: 11,084 / 39,121 = 28.3% (2019, continuing basis); 17,186 / 48,704 = 35.3% (2021); 25,011 / 60,115 = 41.6% (2023); 31,681 / 65,011 = 48.7% (2025); Q2 2026 8,366 / 16,607 = 50.4%. Keytruda and Gardasil Q2 2026 (8,366 + 1,169) / 16,607 = 9,535 / 16,607 = 57.4%. Qlex 463 / 8,366 = 5.5%. Keytruda growth: 31,641 / 29,482 - 1 = 7.3% (2025); 29,482 / 25,011 - 1 = 17.9% (2024); 31,641 / 17,186 = 1.84, compound (1.84)^(1/4) - 1 = 16.5% a year; 31,641 / 11,084 = 2.85 (2019-2025). US share of Keytruda 18,829 / 31,641 = 59.5%. International Keytruda 12,812 / 11,610 - 1 = 10.4%; US Keytruda 18,829 / 17,872 - 1 = 5.4%. US Keytruda share of total sales 18,829 / 65,011 = 29.0%. Royalty: 2.5% x 31,681 = 792; 6.5% x 31,681 = 2,059. Gardasil US royalty 7% x 2,641 = 185. Winrevair royalty 22% x 1,443 = 317; 22% x 419 = 92; Winrevair Q2 2026 588 x 4 = 2,352, 22% x 2,352 = 517. Segment margins: Pharmaceutical 45,754 / 58,142 = 78.7% (2025); Q2 2026 11,612 / 14,760 = 78.7% (recast basis). Animal Health 2,131 / 6,354 = 33.5% (2025); 1,938 / 5,877 = 33.0% (2024); 1,737 / 5,625 = 30.9% (2023); 1,963 / 5,550 = 35.4% (2022); 1,950 / 5,568 = 35.0% (2021); Q2 2026 636 / 1,775 = 35.8%. Unallocated research 14,987 / 58,142 = 25.8%; Animal Health research 448 / 6,354 = 7.1%. Animal Health segment profit 2,131 / 45,754 = 4.7% of Pharmaceutical. Gardasil: international 2,592 / 6,158 - 1 = -57.9%; US 2,641 / 2,083 - 1 = 26.8%; share 5,233 / 65,011 = 8.0%; share of sales 2021 5,673 / 48,704 = 11.6%, 2022 6,897 / 59,283 = 11.6%, 2023 8,886 / 60,115 = 14.8%, 2024 8,583 / 64,168 = 13.4%; Q2 2026 1,169 x 4 = 4,676. Vaccines H1 2026 2,314 + 2,361 = 4,675; H1 2025 2,607 + 2,370 = 4,977; 4,675 / 4,977 - 1 = -6.1%. Childhood vaccines growth 2,368 / 2,241 - 1 = 5.7%; 2,485 / 2,368 - 1 = 4.9%; 2,451 / 2,485 - 1 = -1.4%. Pneumococcal: Pneumovax 166 / 893 - 1 = -81%; 825 + 759 + 166 = 1,750; 1,750 / 893 = 2.0; (825 + 759) / 166 = 9.5; Capvaxive + Vaxneuvance 759 + 825 = 1,584; 1,584 / 6,494 = 24.4% of Prevnar. Animal Health: livestock 3,896 / 6,354 = 61.3%; livestock growth 3,300 / 3,295 - 1 = 0.2%, 3,337 / 3,300 - 1 = 1.1%, 3,462 / 3,337 - 1 = 3.7%, 3,896 / 3,462 - 1 = 12.5%; companion 2,458 / 2,415 - 1 = 1.8%, 2,458 / 2,273 - 1 = 8.1%; companion excluding Bravecto 2,458 - 1,100 = 1,358; rest of Animal Health 6,354 - 1,100 = 5,254; Bravecto 359 / 335 - 1 = 7%. Segment 6,354 / 5,877 - 1 = 8.1%; 5,625 / 5,568 - 1 = 1.0%; Q2 2026 1,775 / 1,646 - 1 = 7.8%; compound (6,354 / 5,568)^(1/4) - 1 = 3.4% a year; share 6,354 / 65,011 = 9.8%; 6,354 / 31,681 = 0.20 of Keytruda; 6,354 / 9,467 = 67% of Zoetis; Zoetis 9,467 / 9,256 - 1 = 2.3%. Competitors: Keytruda 31,641 / Opdivo 10,049 = 3.1. Geography: US 36,510 / 65,011 = 56.2%; China 1,939 / 6,802 - 1 = -71%; China share 4,378 / 48,704 = 9.0% (2021), 6,802 / 60,115 = 11.3% (2023), 5,494 / 64,168 = 8.6% (2024), 1,939 / 65,011 = 3.0% (2025); other regions 65,011 - 36,510 - 14,580 - 2,711 - 1,939 = 9,271. Wholesaler receivables 22% + 21% + 13% = 56% (2025); 21 + 21 + 13 = 55 (2024); 21 + 20 + 14 = 55 (2023). Januvia and Janumet: 3,324 + 1,964 = 5,288 (2021); 2,189 + 1,177 = 3,366 (2023); 1,334 + 935 = 2,269 (2024); 1,604 + 940 = 2,544 (2025). Newer products Q2 2026: 588 + 271 + 204 + 184 = 1,247; 1,247 / 8,366 = 14.9%. Bridion 1,841 / 4 = 460 a quarter. Other pharmaceutical Q2 2026 14,760 - 8,366 - 1,169 = 5,225; Q2 2025 14,050 - 7,956 - 1,126 = 4,968; 5,225 / 4,968 - 1 = 5.2%; 2025 share 21,228 / 65,011 = 32.7%. Research: 30,531 / 60,115 = 50.8% of sales (2023). Charges 2026 9.0 + 5.7 = 14.7 bn; per share 3.62 + 2.31 = 5.93. Ohtuvayre 204 x 4 = 816; 12,100 / 816 = 14.8. Tax guidance midpoints (23.5 + 24.5) / 2 = 24.0; (35.0 + 36.0) / 2 = 35.5. Balance sheet: net debt end-2025 2,589 + 46,750 - 14,565 = 34,774; end-2024 2,649 + 34,462 - 13,242 - 447 = 23,422; end-2023 1,372 + 33,683 - 6,841 - 252 = 27,962; 30 June 2026 2,825 + 51,081 - 6,849 - 292 = 46,765, cash and short-term investments 6,849 + 292 = 7,141; net debt to equity 34,774 / 52,606 = 0.66; 46,765 / 41,933 = 1.1. Net income 2023-2025 365 + 17,117 + 18,254 = 35,736. Valuation: year-end 2025 market value 261.26 bn / net income 18.254 bn = 14.3; free cash flow 2025 16,472 - 4,112 = 12,360; 12,360 / 365,090 = 3.4%. Trailing twelve months to June 2026: sales 65,011 - 31,335 + 32,893 = 66,569; net income 18,254 - 9,506 - 5,575 = 3,173. EPS guidance midpoints (5.00 + 5.15) / 2 = 5.075; (5.04 + 5.16) / 2 = 5.10; (2.66 + 2.76) / 2 = 2.71. Protection from 2026: 2043 - 2026 = 17 years; 2028 - 2026 = 2 years. Year-end P/E = market value / net income: 147.55 / 4.442 = 33.2 (2015); 162.31 / 3.920 = 41.4 (2016); 153.30 / 2.394 = 64.0 (2017); 198.69 / 6.220 = 31.9 (2018); 231.56 / 9.843 = 23.5 (2019); 206.96 / 7.067 = 29.3 (2020); 193.59 / 13.049 = 14.8 (2021); 281.30 / 14.519 = 19.4 (2022); 276.26 / 0.365 = 757 (2023); 251.65 / 17.117 = 14.7 (2024); 261.26 / 18.254 = 14.3 (2025); 365.09 / 3.173 = 115.1 (TTM). Return on average equity 2025: 18,254 / ((52,606 + 46,313) / 2) = 18,254 / 49,460 = 36.9%. Gross profit 2025 65,011 - 16,382 = 48,629; 48,629 / 65,011 = 74.8%; royalty 792 / 16,382 = 4.8% of cost of sales. Keytruda increase 2021-2025 31,681 - 17,186 = 14,495; sales increase 65,011 - 48,704 = 16,307. US sales 36,510 / 28,480 - 1 = 28%. Pharmaceutical margin 2021 30,977 / 42,754 = 72.5%. Livestock less companion 3,295 - 2,273 = 1,022 (2021); 3,896 - 2,458 = 1,438 (2025). Prevnar 6,494 / Vaxneuvance 825 = 7.9. Animal Health 2025 6,354 against Keytruda franchise Q2 2026 8,366 - product and segment totals, growth and royalties. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Merck's Forms 10-K and 10-Q, results releases, the Bristol Myers Squibb, Pfizer and Zoetis 10-Ks and market data; operands shown in the source line.
  15. ReportedAmerican sales rose from $2,083 million in 2023 to $2,641 million in 2025.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A and product sales note: sales by product, segment and country. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  16. ReportedMerck expects Chinese Gardasil sales not to increase materially in 2026, and it began only limited shipments under a revised contract in the second quarter.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - vaccines and China: Gardasil, the childhood and pneumococcal vaccines, and sales in China. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  17. ReportedMerck expects Chinese Gardasil sales not to increase materially in 2026, and it began only limited shipments under a revised contract in the second quarter.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026 - segment profits on the recast basis, the Cidara and Terns acquisitions, the Halozyme litigation, China shipments, loss of exclusivity events and the balance sheet. — Q2 2026 · publ. 7 August 2026 · source ↗
  18. ReportedThe American patent is listed to 2028.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - patents, exclusivity dates, biosimilar competition and royalties. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  19. ReportedMerck's sales in China were $4,378 million in 2021, $5,191 million in 2022 and $6,802 million in 2023, then fell to $5,494 million in 2024; Merck contracted doses to Zhifei in the latter part of 2024 while channel inventory stayed above normal levels.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2023 - product sales for 2021-2023, the Prometheus, Daiichi Sankyo and Imago charges, impairments, receivables concentration and the Zhifei distribution arrangement in China. — FY2023 · publ. February 2024 · source ↗
  20. ReportedMerck's sales in China were $4,378 million in 2021, $5,191 million in 2022 and $6,802 million in 2023, then fell to $5,494 million in 2024; Merck contracted doses to Zhifei in the latter part of 2024 while channel inventory stayed above normal levels.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - vaccines and China: Gardasil, the childhood and pneumococcal vaccines, and sales in China. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  21. ReportedMerck's sales in China were $4,378 million in 2021, $5,191 million in 2022 and $6,802 million in 2023, then fell to $5,494 million in 2024; Merck contracted doses to Zhifei in the latter part of 2024 while channel inventory stayed above normal levels.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - vaccines and China: Gardasil, the childhood and pneumococcal vaccines, and sales in China. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  22. ReportedMerck's sales in China were $4,378 million in 2021, $5,191 million in 2022 and $6,802 million in 2023, then fell to $5,494 million in 2024; Merck contracted doses to Zhifei in the latter part of 2024 while channel inventory stayed above normal levels.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - vaccines and China: Gardasil, the childhood and pneumococcal vaccines, and sales in China. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  23. ReportedA shareholder class action now alleges that Merck's statements about demand for Gardasil in China were materially false and misleading.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026 - segment profits on the recast basis, the Cidara and Terns acquisitions, the Halozyme litigation, China shipments, loss of exclusivity events and the balance sheet. — Q2 2026 · publ. 7 August 2026 · source ↗
  24. ReportedIn the product-liability litigation over the vaccine, the court granted summary judgment for Merck in 16 bellwether cases on 11 March 2025, a decision the plaintiffs have appealed.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1A risk factors, patents and exclusivity, government pricing, vaccine policy and legal proceedings. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
  25. ReportedInternational Gardasil sales, $2,592 million in 2025, are the swing figure; they would have to recover toward $4 billion for Gardasil to regain its old role, and another year near $2.5 billion settles it as a mainly Western product.
    Merck & Co. Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - vaccines and China: Gardasil, the childhood and pneumococcal vaccines, and sales in China. — FY2025 · publ. 24 February 2026 · source ↗
Sources
Generated September 25, 2026