OncologyNarrow moat

AbbVie (ABBV) — moat facet

AbbVie's cancer business has not grown in three years, because Imbruvica's decline, now under a government price, cancels the new drugs.

Oncology is AbbVie's third line and its most stagnant. It sold $6,655 million in 202512, against $6,577 million in 20223, and $1,650 million in the second quarter of 2026, down 1.5%4.

Oncology sales, 2025 ($M)Imbruvica2,869Venclexta2,792Elahere690Epkinly271AbbVie Form 10-K FY2025
The declining drug is still the largest.

What is inside is blood-cancer and solid-tumour drugs. Imbruvica, a BTK inhibitor for blood cancers, sold $2,869 million in 2025; Venclexta, for leukaemia, $2,792 million; Elahere, for ovarian cancer, $690 million; and Epkinly, for lymphoma, $271 million5.

The history is an acquired franchise in decline and new drugs growing. AbbVie acquired Pharmacyclics, Imbruvica's developer, in May 2015 for about $20.8 billion6. Imbruvica sold $4,568 million in 20227 and has fallen every year since. Elahere came with the $9.8 billion ImmunoGen acquisition in February 20248.

How it is paid is complicated by partners. Imbruvica's international revenue is recorded as a profit share with Johnson & Johnson, and Epkinly's United States revenue reflects profit sharing with Genmab9. AbbVie keeps only part of these drugs' economics.

Profitability is not disclosed separately10. AbbVie impaired Imbruvica by $2.1 billion in 2023 after its Medicare selection11.

Growth depends on the new drugs outrunning Imbruvica. Venclexta grew to $771 million and Elahere to $211 million in the second quarter of 202612, while Imbruvica fell 29.4%13 under its government-set Medicare price.

The outlook rests on licensed and acquired programmes, including the RemeGen antibody licensed for $650 million upfront14 and the newly approved Decnupaz15. Management assumed about $6.5 billion for 202616, a further slight decline.

The history of oncology deals is expensive. Beyond Pharmacyclics, AbbVie bought Stemcentrx in June 2016 for about $6.4 billion17, a purchase that produced no lasting product. Management's 2026 assumptions put Imbruvica at $2.2 billion, Venclexta at $3 billion and Elahere at $850 million18, which leaves oncology roughly flat again.

This line is a narrow franchise in transition. The verdict would change if oncology returned to growth in 2027, which would mean the new drugs have finally outgrown Imbruvica's decline.

Moat trajectory: Holding steady

Flat for three years; Imbruvica falling, Venclexta and Elahere growing.

The number that tests this moat
Reported
Imbruvica sales, latest quarter
$532M, -29.4% (Q2 2026)

The declining drug the rest of oncology must outgrow; when its decline slows, the line can grow again.

Source: AbbVie Q2 2026 results release ↗
References
  1. ReportedIt sold $6,655 million in 2025, against $6,577 million in 2022, and $1,650 million in the second quarter of 2026, down 1.5%.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business: products, customers, competition and research. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  2. Moat Explorer calcIt sold $6,655 million in 2025, against $6,577 million in 2022, and $1,650 million in the second quarter of 2026, down 1.5%.
    Moat Explorer calculation from AbbVie's reported product revenue and financial statements ($ millions unless stated). Therapeutic areas 2025: immunology 17,562 + 8,304 + 4,540 = 30,406; neuroscience 3,621 + 3,769 + 1,271 + 1,036 + 482 + 381 + 207 = 10,767; oncology 2,869 + 2,792 + 690 + 271 + 33 = 6,655; aesthetics 2,602 + 993 + 1,265 = 4,860; eye care 493 + 410 + 197 + 1,009 = 2,109; other key products 1,317 + 1,512 + 907 = 3,736; all other 2,627; eye care and other products 2,109 + 3,736 + 2,627 = 8,472; total 61,160. 2024: immunology 11,718 + 5,971 + 8,993 = 26,682; neuroscience 8,999; oncology 6,555; aesthetics 5,176; eye care and other 2,242 + 3,648 + 3,032 = 8,922. 2023: 7,763 + 3,969 + 14,404 = 26,136; neuroscience 7,717; oncology 5,915; aesthetics 5,294; eye care and other 2,415 + 3,806 + 3,035 = 9,256. 2022: 5,165 + 2,522 + 21,237 = 28,924; neuroscience 6,528; oncology 6,577; aesthetics 5,333; eye care and other 2,701 + 3,854 + 4,137 = 10,692. Growth 2025: immunology 30,406 / 26,682 - 1 = 14.0%; neuroscience 10,767 / 8,999 - 1 = 19.6%. Immunology and neuroscience 30,406 + 10,767 = 41,173, 41,173 / 61,160 = 67.3%. Immunology share 30,406 / 61,160 = 49.7%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq: 5,165 + 2,522 = 7,687 (2022); 7,763 + 3,969 = 11,732 (2023); 11,718 + 5,971 = 17,689 (2024); 17,562 + 8,304 = 25,866 (2025); H1 2026 9,988 + 4,644 = 14,632; Q2 2026 5,505 + 2,525 = 8,030, 8,030 / 16,990 = 47.3%; 2026 plan 21.5 + 10.1 = 31.6 bn. Shares of revenue 7,687 / 58,054 = 13.2%; 11,732 / 54,318 = 21.6%; 17,689 / 56,334 = 31.4%; 25,866 / 61,160 = 42.3%. Humira: 4,540 / 21,237 - 1 = -78.6%; share 8,993 / 56,334 = 16.0% (2024), 4,540 / 61,160 = 7.4% (2025). Rebates: 65.1 / 61.16 = 1.06; 65.1 / 18.8 = 3.5 times (2019-2025) against net revenues 61,160 / 33,266 = 1.8 times; gross sales 61.2 + 65.1 = 126.3 bn, 126.3 / 61.2 = 2.1 times; managed care 22,307 / 61,160 = 36.5%; Medicaid and Medicare 21,283 / 61,160 = 34.8%; payers 22,307 + 21,283 = 43,590, 43,590 / 61,160 = 71.3%. Geography: US 46,603 / 61,160 = 76.2%; international 14,557 / 61,160 = 23.8%. Gross margin 2025 (61,160 - 18,204) / 61,160 = 70.2%. Government-set price products, 2025 sales: 2,869 + 3,621 + 907 + 3,769 = 11,166, 11,166 / 61,160 = 18.3%. Goodwill and intangibles 35,640 + 52,641 = 88,281, 88,281 / 133,960 = 65.9%. Eye care share 2,109 / 61,160 = 3.4%; aesthetics share 4,860 / 61,160 = 7.9%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 62,481 + 8,341 - 6,569 = 64,253; net debt / operating cash flow 64,253 / 19,030 = 3.4 years. Free cash flow 2025: 19,030 - 1,214 = 17,816; dividends paid 11,657 / 17,816 = 65.4%; operating cash flow / dividends 19,030 / 11,657 = 1.6; dividends declared / net earnings 11,819 / 4,226 = 2.8; dividends per share 6.65 / 1.75 = 3.8 times (2014-2025). Free cash flow yield 17,816 / 468,500 = 3.8%; free cash flow per share 17,816 / 1,771 = 10.06. 2026 adjusted EPS guidance midpoints: (14.37 + 14.57) / 2 = 14.47; (13.96 + 14.16) / 2 = 14.06; (14.08 + 14.28) / 2 = 14.18; (13.91 + 14.11) / 2 = 14.01; (13.87 + 14.07) / 2 = 13.97. Ubrelvy and Qulipta Q2 2026 392 + 350 = 742; 2025 1,271 + 1,036 = 2,307. Skyrizi share 17,562 / 61,160 = 28.7%. Juvederm 993 / 1,428 - 1 = -30.5%. Aesthetics 4,860 / 5,176 - 1 = -6.1%. Gross margin 2023 (54,318 - 20,415) / 54,318 = 62.4%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq 2021 2,939 + 1,651 = 4,590; 2022 7,687 / 21,237 = 36% - therapeutic-area totals, growth and rebates. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in AbbVie's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Q4 2025 call and market data; operands shown in the source line.
  3. Moat Explorer calcIt sold $6,655 million in 2025, against $6,577 million in 2022, and $1,650 million in the second quarter of 2026, down 1.5%.
    Moat Explorer calculation from AbbVie's reported product revenue and financial statements ($ millions unless stated). Therapeutic areas 2025: immunology 17,562 + 8,304 + 4,540 = 30,406; neuroscience 3,621 + 3,769 + 1,271 + 1,036 + 482 + 381 + 207 = 10,767; oncology 2,869 + 2,792 + 690 + 271 + 33 = 6,655; aesthetics 2,602 + 993 + 1,265 = 4,860; eye care 493 + 410 + 197 + 1,009 = 2,109; other key products 1,317 + 1,512 + 907 = 3,736; all other 2,627; eye care and other products 2,109 + 3,736 + 2,627 = 8,472; total 61,160. 2024: immunology 11,718 + 5,971 + 8,993 = 26,682; neuroscience 8,999; oncology 6,555; aesthetics 5,176; eye care and other 2,242 + 3,648 + 3,032 = 8,922. 2023: 7,763 + 3,969 + 14,404 = 26,136; neuroscience 7,717; oncology 5,915; aesthetics 5,294; eye care and other 2,415 + 3,806 + 3,035 = 9,256. 2022: 5,165 + 2,522 + 21,237 = 28,924; neuroscience 6,528; oncology 6,577; aesthetics 5,333; eye care and other 2,701 + 3,854 + 4,137 = 10,692. Growth 2025: immunology 30,406 / 26,682 - 1 = 14.0%; neuroscience 10,767 / 8,999 - 1 = 19.6%. Immunology and neuroscience 30,406 + 10,767 = 41,173, 41,173 / 61,160 = 67.3%. Immunology share 30,406 / 61,160 = 49.7%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq: 5,165 + 2,522 = 7,687 (2022); 7,763 + 3,969 = 11,732 (2023); 11,718 + 5,971 = 17,689 (2024); 17,562 + 8,304 = 25,866 (2025); H1 2026 9,988 + 4,644 = 14,632; Q2 2026 5,505 + 2,525 = 8,030, 8,030 / 16,990 = 47.3%; 2026 plan 21.5 + 10.1 = 31.6 bn. Shares of revenue 7,687 / 58,054 = 13.2%; 11,732 / 54,318 = 21.6%; 17,689 / 56,334 = 31.4%; 25,866 / 61,160 = 42.3%. Humira: 4,540 / 21,237 - 1 = -78.6%; share 8,993 / 56,334 = 16.0% (2024), 4,540 / 61,160 = 7.4% (2025). Rebates: 65.1 / 61.16 = 1.06; 65.1 / 18.8 = 3.5 times (2019-2025) against net revenues 61,160 / 33,266 = 1.8 times; gross sales 61.2 + 65.1 = 126.3 bn, 126.3 / 61.2 = 2.1 times; managed care 22,307 / 61,160 = 36.5%; Medicaid and Medicare 21,283 / 61,160 = 34.8%; payers 22,307 + 21,283 = 43,590, 43,590 / 61,160 = 71.3%. Geography: US 46,603 / 61,160 = 76.2%; international 14,557 / 61,160 = 23.8%. Gross margin 2025 (61,160 - 18,204) / 61,160 = 70.2%. Government-set price products, 2025 sales: 2,869 + 3,621 + 907 + 3,769 = 11,166, 11,166 / 61,160 = 18.3%. Goodwill and intangibles 35,640 + 52,641 = 88,281, 88,281 / 133,960 = 65.9%. Eye care share 2,109 / 61,160 = 3.4%; aesthetics share 4,860 / 61,160 = 7.9%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 62,481 + 8,341 - 6,569 = 64,253; net debt / operating cash flow 64,253 / 19,030 = 3.4 years. Free cash flow 2025: 19,030 - 1,214 = 17,816; dividends paid 11,657 / 17,816 = 65.4%; operating cash flow / dividends 19,030 / 11,657 = 1.6; dividends declared / net earnings 11,819 / 4,226 = 2.8; dividends per share 6.65 / 1.75 = 3.8 times (2014-2025). Free cash flow yield 17,816 / 468,500 = 3.8%; free cash flow per share 17,816 / 1,771 = 10.06. 2026 adjusted EPS guidance midpoints: (14.37 + 14.57) / 2 = 14.47; (13.96 + 14.16) / 2 = 14.06; (14.08 + 14.28) / 2 = 14.18; (13.91 + 14.11) / 2 = 14.01; (13.87 + 14.07) / 2 = 13.97. Ubrelvy and Qulipta Q2 2026 392 + 350 = 742; 2025 1,271 + 1,036 = 2,307. Skyrizi share 17,562 / 61,160 = 28.7%. Juvederm 993 / 1,428 - 1 = -30.5%. Aesthetics 4,860 / 5,176 - 1 = -6.1%. Gross margin 2023 (54,318 - 20,415) / 54,318 = 62.4%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq 2021 2,939 + 1,651 = 4,590; 2022 7,687 / 21,237 = 36% - therapeutic-area totals, growth and rebates. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in AbbVie's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Q4 2025 call and market data; operands shown in the source line.
  4. ReportedIt sold $6,655 million in 2025, against $6,577 million in 2022, and $1,650 million in the second quarter of 2026, down 1.5%.
    AbbVie second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1. — Q2 2026 · publ. 31 July 2026 · source ↗
  5. ReportedImbruvica, a BTK inhibitor for blood cancers, sold $2,869 million in 2025; Venclexta, for leukaemia, $2,792 million; Elahere, for ovarian cancer, $690 million; and Epkinly, for lymphoma, $271 million.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenues by product and region, and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  6. ReportedAbbVie acquired Pharmacyclics, Imbruvica's developer, in May 2015 for about $20.8 billion.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2018 - Humira revenue for 2016-2018, the Pharmacyclics and Stemcentrx acquisitions, and selected data for 2014-2018. — FY2018 · publ. February 2019 · source ↗
  7. ReportedImbruvica sold $4,568 million in 2022 and has fallen every year since.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2024 - product revenue for 2022-2024, product concentration, the CEO succession and the emraclidine impairment. — FY2024 · publ. February 2025 · source ↗
  8. ReportedElahere came with the $9.8 billion ImmunoGen acquisition in February 2024.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - financial statements and notes: earnings, cash flow, balance sheet, acquisitions and contingent consideration. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  9. ReportedImbruvica's international revenue is recorded as a profit share with Johnson & Johnson, and Epkinly's United States revenue reflects profit sharing with Genmab.
    AbbVie second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1. — Q2 2026 · publ. 31 July 2026 · source ↗
  10. ReportedProfitability is not disclosed separately.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business: products, customers, competition and research. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  11. ReportedAbbVie impaired Imbruvica by $2.1 billion in 2023 after its Medicare selection.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1A risk factors, patents and exclusivity, government pricing and legal proceedings. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  12. ReportedVenclexta grew to $771 million and Elahere to $211 million in the second quarter of 2026, while Imbruvica fell 29.4% under its government-set Medicare price.
    AbbVie second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1. — Q2 2026 · publ. 31 July 2026 · source ↗
  13. ReportedVenclexta grew to $771 million and Elahere to $211 million in the second quarter of 2026, while Imbruvica fell 29.4% under its government-set Medicare price.
    AbbVie second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1. — Q2 2026 · publ. 31 July 2026 · source ↗
  14. ReportedThe outlook rests on licensed and acquired programmes, including the RemeGen antibody licensed for $650 million upfront and the newly approved Decnupaz.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - financial statements and notes: earnings, cash flow, balance sheet, acquisitions and contingent consideration. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  15. ReportedThe outlook rests on licensed and acquired programmes, including the RemeGen antibody licensed for $650 million upfront and the newly approved Decnupaz.
    AbbVie second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1. — Q2 2026 · publ. 31 July 2026 · source ↗
  16. ReportedManagement assumed about $6.5 billion for 2026, a further slight decline.
    The Motley Fool, AbbVie Q4 2025 earnings call transcript - 2026 revenue assumptions by product and management's comments on share and competitors. — Q4 2025 · publ. 4 February 2026 · source ↗
  17. ReportedBeyond Pharmacyclics, AbbVie bought Stemcentrx in June 2016 for about $6.4 billion, a purchase that produced no lasting product.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2018 - Humira revenue for 2016-2018, the Pharmacyclics and Stemcentrx acquisitions, and selected data for 2014-2018. — FY2018 · publ. February 2019 · source ↗
  18. ReportedManagement's 2026 assumptions put Imbruvica at $2.2 billion, Venclexta at $3 billion and Elahere at $850 million, which leaves oncology roughly flat again.
    The Motley Fool, AbbVie Q4 2025 earnings call transcript - 2026 revenue assumptions by product and management's comments on share and competitors. — Q4 2025 · publ. 4 February 2026 · source ↗
Sources
Generated September 25, 2026