WellMed, Florida and a Private-Equity PartnerThin moat
UnitedHealth Group (UNH) — moat facet
UnitedHealth sold part of its Florida WellMed clinics to TPG, which shows it now treats clinic ownership as capital to share.
In September 2026 UnitedHealth said it had sold an interest in some of its Optum Health operations in Florida to the private equity firm TPG1. The clinics belong to WellMed, which focuses on care for older people2; the terms were not disclosed3.
The chief financial officer explained the reasoning: the partner would help the business grow faster locally than UnitedHealth could while also running a broader turnaround4. UnitedHealth is opening about 15 clinics a year in Florida5. TPG also bought Optum UK earlier in 2026, according to media reports, and UnitedHealth said that sale generated $400 million for the United Health Foundation6.
The deal says something about how the company now values its clinics. A business that once bought practices to own them outright is now willing to share ownership to get capital and local focus.
Optum Health earned $2,331 million in the first half of 20267, already above its full-year guidance of more than $2,275 million8.
Optum Health's leadership framed the deal as a growth decision. Krista Nelson said the company brought in a partner so it could make more investment in the market and be positioned for strategic growth9, and the partnership began within the previous year10.
This is a thin moat: clinics are valuable in a local market, but others can build or buy them. What to watch is how much more of Optum Health is sold to partners; a series of such deals would say the company sees clinic ownership as capital to recycle rather than a core advantage.
Partial sale; still opening about 15 Florida clinics a year.
The care business's profit so far in 2026; falling behind the pace would mean the turnaround is stalling.
Source: UnitedHealth Group Form 10-Q, Q2 2026 ↗- ReportedIn September 2026 UnitedHealth said it had sold an interest in some of its Optum Health operations in Florida to the private equity firm TPG.Insurance Journal (Bloomberg), 'UnitedHealth Sells Interest in Florida WellMed Clinics to TPG' - including the CFO's Optum Health margin path. — September 2026 · publ. 9 September 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedThe clinics belong to WellMed, which focuses on care for older people; the terms were not disclosed.Insurance Journal (Bloomberg), 'UnitedHealth Sells Interest in Florida WellMed Clinics to TPG' - including the CFO's Optum Health margin path. — September 2026 · publ. 9 September 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedThe clinics belong to WellMed, which focuses on care for older people; the terms were not disclosed.Insurance Journal (Bloomberg), 'UnitedHealth Sells Interest in Florida WellMed Clinics to TPG' - including the CFO's Optum Health margin path. — September 2026 · publ. 9 September 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedThe chief financial officer explained the reasoning: the partner would help the business grow faster locally than UnitedHealth could while also running a broader turnaround.Insurance Journal (Bloomberg), 'UnitedHealth Sells Interest in Florida WellMed Clinics to TPG' - including the CFO's Optum Health margin path. — September 2026 · publ. 9 September 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedUnitedHealth is opening about 15 clinics a year in Florida.Insurance Journal (Bloomberg), 'UnitedHealth Sells Interest in Florida WellMed Clinics to TPG' - including the CFO's Optum Health margin path. — September 2026 · publ. 9 September 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedTPG also bought Optum UK earlier in 2026, according to media reports, and UnitedHealth said that sale generated $400 million for the United Health Foundation.Insurance Journal (Bloomberg), 'UnitedHealth Sells Interest in Florida WellMed Clinics to TPG' - including the CFO's Optum Health margin path. — September 2026 · publ. 9 September 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedOptum Health earned $2,331 million in the first half of 2026, already above its full-year guidance of more than $2,275 million.UnitedHealth Group second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1 - segment results, operating metrics and people served. — Q2 2026 · publ. 16 July 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedOptum Health earned $2,331 million in the first half of 2026, already above its full-year guidance of more than $2,275 million.UnitedHealth Group second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1 - segment results, operating metrics and people served. — Q2 2026 · publ. 16 July 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedKrista Nelson said the company brought in a partner so it could make more investment in the market and be positioned for strategic growth, and the partnership began within the previous year.Insurance Journal (Bloomberg), 'UnitedHealth Sells Interest in Florida WellMed Clinics to TPG' - including the CFO's Optum Health margin path. — September 2026 · publ. 9 September 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedKrista Nelson said the company brought in a partner so it could make more investment in the market and be positioned for strategic growth, and the partnership began within the previous year.Insurance Journal (Bloomberg), 'UnitedHealth Sells Interest in Florida WellMed Clinics to TPG' - including the CFO's Optum Health margin path. — September 2026 · publ. 9 September 2026 · source ↗