UCANWide moat

Netflix (NFLX) — moat facet

The United States and Canada pay Netflix the most per member and are now growing the slowest, which makes each price rise a test.

The United States and Canada are Netflix's largest line and its richest. UCAN streaming revenue was $19,957 million in 20251, 44.2% of the total2, and $5,432 million in the second quarter of 20263. American revenue alone was $18.5 billion4.

UCAN streaming revenue ($M)14,085202214,874202317,359202419,9572025Netflix Forms 10-K FY2024 and FY2025
Paid sharing restarted growth after 2023.

What is inside the line is subscription fees from about 89.6 million memberships at the end of 2024, the last year Netflix counted them by region5, plus a small but growing amount of advertising. Plans ranged up to the equivalent of $37 a month at the end of 20256.

The history is Netflix's own. Streaming began in 20077, in the United States first. By 2022 the market looked saturated: UCAN memberships fell by 919,000 that year8. Paid sharing reversed that, adding 5.8 million memberships in 2023 and 9.5 million in 2024910.

How it is paid: a monthly fee, highest in the company. Average revenue per UCAN membership was $15.86 in 2022, $16.28 in 2023 and $17.20 in 202411, against a global average of $11.7012.

Profitability is not disclosed: Netflix reports one operating segment13 and no regional profit. Because content is bought once and shown everywhere, UCAN's higher price per member almost certainly carries a higher margin, but that is an inference.

Growth has been strong but is slowing. Revenue grew 5.6% in 2023, 16.7% in 2024 and 15.0% in 202514. Quarterly growth then fell from 18% in the fourth quarter of 2025 to 14% and 10%15.

The outlook depends on price. The region is the most penetrated Netflix has, and the latest price change had only a partial effect in the second quarter16. Advertising, about $3 billion expected company-wide in 202617, will matter most here.

The line also carries most of the company's people. About 10,900 of Netflix's roughly 16,000 employees, 68%, work in the United States and Canada18, against 44% of revenue. That reflects where the company is run and where much of its technology is built rather than a cost of serving the region, and it is one reason regional profit cannot be estimated simply from revenue. The UCAN share of revenue has also slipped, from about 44.8% in 2022 to 44.2% in 202519, as the other regions grew faster.

Hedging blurs the regional figures a little. Revenue includes hedging gains and losses, a loss of $91 million in 2025 against a gain of $124 million in 202420, allocated across the regions. The swing of about $215 million between the two years21 is small against UCAN's $19,957 million, but it means a year of regional growth can be flattered or held back by the company's currency hedges rather than by members.

The verdict would change if UCAN growth stayed at or below 10% once the price change is fully reflected; that would mean the American household has reached its limit.

Moat trajectory: Holding steady

Growth slowed from 18% to 10% in two quarters.

The number that tests this moat
Reported
UCAN streaming revenue, latest quarter
$5,432M, +10% (Q2 2026)

The home market's growth; staying at or below 10% after the full price change would mean the limit has been reached.

Source: Netflix Q2 2026 shareholder letter ↗
References
  1. ReportedUCAN streaming revenue was $19,957 million in 2025, 44.2% of the total, and $5,432 million in the second quarter of 2026.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: streaming revenue by region. — FY2025 · publ. 23 January 2026 · source ↗
  2. Moat Explorer calcUCAN streaming revenue was $19,957 million in 2025, 44.2% of the total, and $5,432 million in the second quarter of 2026.
    Moat Explorer calculation from Netflix's reported financial statements, shareholder letters and market data ($ millions unless stated). Content amortization / revenue: 14,026.1 / 31,615.6 = 44.4% (2022); 14,197.4 / 33,723.3 = 42.1% (2023); 15,301.5 / 39,001.0 = 39.2% (2024); 16,422.2 / 45,183.0 = 36.3% (2025); Q2 2026 4,311.3 / 12,559.9 = 34.3%. Revenue growth 2022-2025: 45,183.0 / 31,615.6 - 1 = 43%; 2025 45,183.0 / 39,001.0 - 1 = 15.9%. Operating income 13,326.6 / 5,632.8 = 2.4 times. Gross margin (45,183.0 - 23,275.3) / 45,183.0 = 48.5% (2025); (33,723.3 - 19,715.4) / 33,723.3 = 41.5% (2023). Q3 2025 operating margin excluding the Brazil charge (3,248 + 619) / 11,510 = 33.6%. Additions to content assets Q2 2026 4,927.5 / 3,835.8 - 1 = 28%. Cash content spend = additions less change in content liabilities: 16,839.0 - 179.3 = 16,659.7 (2022), 12,554.7 + 585.6 = 13,140.3 (2023), 16,223.6 + 779.1 = 17,002.8 (2024), 17,096.6 + 610.8 = 17,707.5 (2025); ratio to amortization 16,659.7 / 14,026.1 = 1.19, 13,140.3 / 14,197.4 = 0.93, 17,002.8 / 15,301.5 = 1.11, 17,707.5 / 16,422.2 = 1.08. Licensed share of amortization 8,713.6 / 16,422.2 = 53%; licensed growth 8,713.6 / 7,689.0 - 1 = 13.3%; produced growth 7,708.6 / 7,612.5 - 1 = 1.3%. Produced share of content assets 20,639.8 / 32,778.4 = 63%; content assets / amortization 32,778.4 / 16,422.2 = 2.0 years. Tax incentives / produced amortization 1,000 / 7,708.6 = 13%; tax incentives / operating income 1,000 / 13,326.6 = 7.5%. Employees outside UCAN 16,000 - 10,900 = 5,100. Capex / revenue 688.2 / 45,183.0 = 1.5%; capex growth 688.2 / 439.5 - 1 = 57%. Free cash flow = operating cash flow less capex: 10,149.3 - 688.2 = 9,461.1 (2025); 7,361.4 - 439.5 = 6,921.8 (2024); 7,274.3 - 348.6 = 6,925.7 (2023); FCF / revenue 9,461.1 / 45,183.0 = 20.9%; FCF / net income 9,461.1 / 10,981.2 = 86%; capex / FCF 348.6 / 6,925.7 = 5.0%, 439.5 / 6,921.8 = 6.4%, 688.2 / 9,461.1 = 7.3%. Buybacks / FCF 9,127.2 / 9,461.1 = 96%; buybacks 2024 + 2025 6,263.7 + 9,127.2 = 15,390.9; diluted shares 4,261 / 4,349 - 1 = -2.0%; remaining authorization 27.1 / 296.24 = 9%. Year-end P/E = market value / net income: 213.10 / 5.408 = 39.4 (2023), 381.00 / 8.712 = 43.7 (2024), 397.29 / 10.981 = 36.2 (2025), trailing 296.24 / 13.650 = 21.7. Net debt / equity end 2025 (14,462.8 - 9,033.7 - 28.7) / 26,615.5 = 0.20; interest / operating income 776.5 / 13,326.6 = 5.8%; termination fee / 2025 net income 2,800 / 10,981.2 = 25%; ROE 10,981.2 / ((26,615.5 + 24,743.6) / 2) = 43%; net income growth 10,981.2 / 8,711.6 - 1 = 26%. Pre-tax income 2025 10,981.2 + 1,741.4 = 12,722.6, one point of tax rate = 127; six points = 763. UCAN ARM 17.20 / 15.86 - 1 = 8.4%; UCAN net additions 80,128 - 74,296 = 5,832 (2023), 89,625 - 80,128 = 9,497 (2024); paid memberships growth 301,626 / 260,276 - 1 = 16%; top plan price 37 / 32 - 1 = 15.6%. Obligations: due in 12 months / revenue 11,528.0 / 45,183.0 = 25.5%; obligations / debt 25.1 / 14.3 = 1.75; off balance sheet 18.4 / 24.0 = 76% (end 2025), 19.6 / 25.1 = 78% (June 2026). Advertising: 1.5 / 45.2 = 3.3% of 2025 revenue; 3.0 / 51.2 = 5.9% of the 2026 guidance midpoint (51.0 + 51.4) / 2 = 51.2. Nielsen gap 13.8 - 8.0 = 5.8 points. Regions: 2025 shares UCAN 19,957.2 / 45,183.0 = 44.2%, EMEA 14,514.6 / 45,183.0 = 32.1%, LATAM 5,357.5 / 45,183.0 = 11.9%, APAC 5,353.7 / 45,183.0 = 11.8%; Q2 2026 UCAN 5,432 / 12,560 = 43.2%. UCAN growth 14,873.8 / 14,084.6 - 1 = 5.6% (2023), 17,359.4 / 14,873.8 - 1 = 16.7% (2024), 19,957.2 / 17,359.4 - 1 = 15.0% (2025). EMEA memberships 101,133 / 76,729 - 1 = 31.8%; APAC memberships 57,541 / 38,023 - 1 = 51.3%; APAC revenue 5,353.7 / 3,570.2 - 1 = 50%. UCAN share of 2022 streaming revenue 14,084.6 / 31,469.9 = 44.8%. Memberships 2022-2024: UCAN 89,625 / 74,296 - 1 = 20.6%, LATAM 53,327 / 41,699 - 1 = 27.9%. ARM gap UCAN less APAC 15.86 - 8.50 = 7.36 (2022), 17.20 - 7.29 = 9.91 (2024). H1 2026 revenue 24,809.7 / 51,200 = 48.5% of the guidance midpoint. Diluted shares 4,343,863 / 4,494,966 - 1 = -3.4%. Average buyback price Q2 2026 4.7bn / 52.93M shares = about $89; 2025 9,127.2 / 86.54M shares = about $105; 71.15 / 105 - 1 = -32%. Analyst target 92.93 / 71.15 - 1 = 31%. US revenue 18.5 / 13.8 - 1 = 34%. Hedging swing 124 - (-91) = 215. Revenue 2023-2025 45,183.0 / 33,723.3 - 1 = 34%; employees 16,000 / 13,000 - 1 = 23%. Q2 net income 3,401 / 3,125 - 1 = 8.8%. DVD revenue = total revenue less streaming revenue: 33,723.3 - 33,640.5 = 82.8 (2023); 31,615.6 - 31,469.9 = 145.7 (2022) - regional revenue, memberships and viewing share. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Netflix's Forms 10-K and 10-Q, shareholder letters, Nielsen's May 2026 Gauge and market data; operands shown in the source line.
  3. ReportedUCAN streaming revenue was $19,957 million in 2025, 44.2% of the total, and $5,432 million in the second quarter of 2026.
    Netflix second-quarter 2026 shareholder letter, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1 - quarterly results, regional revenue, 2026 guidance, view hours, live programming and advertising - financial results, regional revenue and 2026 guidance. — Q2 2026 · publ. 16 July 2026 · source ↗
  4. ReportedAmerican revenue alone was $18.5 billion.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: streaming revenue by region. — FY2025 · publ. 23 January 2026 · source ↗
  5. ReportedWhat is inside the line is subscription fees from about 89.6 million memberships at the end of 2024, the last year Netflix counted them by region, plus a small but growing amount of advertising.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2024 - paid memberships and average monthly revenue per paying membership by region for 2022-2024, regional revenue for 2022, and the 2024 currency impact. — FY2024 · publ. January 2025 · source ↗
  6. ReportedPlans ranged up to the equivalent of $37 a month at the end of 2025.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business and Item 7 overview: the single segment, pricing plans, Open Connect, employees and the end of membership reporting. — FY2025 · publ. 23 January 2026 · source ↗
  7. ReportedStreaming began in 2007, in the United States first.
    Netflix second-quarter 2026 shareholder letter, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1 - quarterly results, regional revenue, 2026 guidance, view hours, live programming and advertising - programming, engagement, live events and product. — Q2 2026 · publ. 16 July 2026 · source ↗
  8. ReportedBy 2022 the market looked saturated: UCAN memberships fell by 919,000 that year.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2024 - paid memberships and average monthly revenue per paying membership by region for 2022-2024, regional revenue for 2022, and the 2024 currency impact. — FY2024 · publ. January 2025 · source ↗
  9. ReportedPaid sharing reversed that, adding 5.8 million memberships in 2023 and 9.5 million in 2024.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2024 - paid memberships and average monthly revenue per paying membership by region for 2022-2024, regional revenue for 2022, and the 2024 currency impact. — FY2024 · publ. January 2025 · source ↗
  10. Moat Explorer calcPaid sharing reversed that, adding 5.8 million memberships in 2023 and 9.5 million in 2024.
    Moat Explorer calculation from Netflix's reported financial statements, shareholder letters and market data ($ millions unless stated). Content amortization / revenue: 14,026.1 / 31,615.6 = 44.4% (2022); 14,197.4 / 33,723.3 = 42.1% (2023); 15,301.5 / 39,001.0 = 39.2% (2024); 16,422.2 / 45,183.0 = 36.3% (2025); Q2 2026 4,311.3 / 12,559.9 = 34.3%. Revenue growth 2022-2025: 45,183.0 / 31,615.6 - 1 = 43%; 2025 45,183.0 / 39,001.0 - 1 = 15.9%. Operating income 13,326.6 / 5,632.8 = 2.4 times. Gross margin (45,183.0 - 23,275.3) / 45,183.0 = 48.5% (2025); (33,723.3 - 19,715.4) / 33,723.3 = 41.5% (2023). Q3 2025 operating margin excluding the Brazil charge (3,248 + 619) / 11,510 = 33.6%. Additions to content assets Q2 2026 4,927.5 / 3,835.8 - 1 = 28%. Cash content spend = additions less change in content liabilities: 16,839.0 - 179.3 = 16,659.7 (2022), 12,554.7 + 585.6 = 13,140.3 (2023), 16,223.6 + 779.1 = 17,002.8 (2024), 17,096.6 + 610.8 = 17,707.5 (2025); ratio to amortization 16,659.7 / 14,026.1 = 1.19, 13,140.3 / 14,197.4 = 0.93, 17,002.8 / 15,301.5 = 1.11, 17,707.5 / 16,422.2 = 1.08. Licensed share of amortization 8,713.6 / 16,422.2 = 53%; licensed growth 8,713.6 / 7,689.0 - 1 = 13.3%; produced growth 7,708.6 / 7,612.5 - 1 = 1.3%. Produced share of content assets 20,639.8 / 32,778.4 = 63%; content assets / amortization 32,778.4 / 16,422.2 = 2.0 years. Tax incentives / produced amortization 1,000 / 7,708.6 = 13%; tax incentives / operating income 1,000 / 13,326.6 = 7.5%. Employees outside UCAN 16,000 - 10,900 = 5,100. Capex / revenue 688.2 / 45,183.0 = 1.5%; capex growth 688.2 / 439.5 - 1 = 57%. Free cash flow = operating cash flow less capex: 10,149.3 - 688.2 = 9,461.1 (2025); 7,361.4 - 439.5 = 6,921.8 (2024); 7,274.3 - 348.6 = 6,925.7 (2023); FCF / revenue 9,461.1 / 45,183.0 = 20.9%; FCF / net income 9,461.1 / 10,981.2 = 86%; capex / FCF 348.6 / 6,925.7 = 5.0%, 439.5 / 6,921.8 = 6.4%, 688.2 / 9,461.1 = 7.3%. Buybacks / FCF 9,127.2 / 9,461.1 = 96%; buybacks 2024 + 2025 6,263.7 + 9,127.2 = 15,390.9; diluted shares 4,261 / 4,349 - 1 = -2.0%; remaining authorization 27.1 / 296.24 = 9%. Year-end P/E = market value / net income: 213.10 / 5.408 = 39.4 (2023), 381.00 / 8.712 = 43.7 (2024), 397.29 / 10.981 = 36.2 (2025), trailing 296.24 / 13.650 = 21.7. Net debt / equity end 2025 (14,462.8 - 9,033.7 - 28.7) / 26,615.5 = 0.20; interest / operating income 776.5 / 13,326.6 = 5.8%; termination fee / 2025 net income 2,800 / 10,981.2 = 25%; ROE 10,981.2 / ((26,615.5 + 24,743.6) / 2) = 43%; net income growth 10,981.2 / 8,711.6 - 1 = 26%. Pre-tax income 2025 10,981.2 + 1,741.4 = 12,722.6, one point of tax rate = 127; six points = 763. UCAN ARM 17.20 / 15.86 - 1 = 8.4%; UCAN net additions 80,128 - 74,296 = 5,832 (2023), 89,625 - 80,128 = 9,497 (2024); paid memberships growth 301,626 / 260,276 - 1 = 16%; top plan price 37 / 32 - 1 = 15.6%. Obligations: due in 12 months / revenue 11,528.0 / 45,183.0 = 25.5%; obligations / debt 25.1 / 14.3 = 1.75; off balance sheet 18.4 / 24.0 = 76% (end 2025), 19.6 / 25.1 = 78% (June 2026). Advertising: 1.5 / 45.2 = 3.3% of 2025 revenue; 3.0 / 51.2 = 5.9% of the 2026 guidance midpoint (51.0 + 51.4) / 2 = 51.2. Nielsen gap 13.8 - 8.0 = 5.8 points. Regions: 2025 shares UCAN 19,957.2 / 45,183.0 = 44.2%, EMEA 14,514.6 / 45,183.0 = 32.1%, LATAM 5,357.5 / 45,183.0 = 11.9%, APAC 5,353.7 / 45,183.0 = 11.8%; Q2 2026 UCAN 5,432 / 12,560 = 43.2%. UCAN growth 14,873.8 / 14,084.6 - 1 = 5.6% (2023), 17,359.4 / 14,873.8 - 1 = 16.7% (2024), 19,957.2 / 17,359.4 - 1 = 15.0% (2025). EMEA memberships 101,133 / 76,729 - 1 = 31.8%; APAC memberships 57,541 / 38,023 - 1 = 51.3%; APAC revenue 5,353.7 / 3,570.2 - 1 = 50%. UCAN share of 2022 streaming revenue 14,084.6 / 31,469.9 = 44.8%. Memberships 2022-2024: UCAN 89,625 / 74,296 - 1 = 20.6%, LATAM 53,327 / 41,699 - 1 = 27.9%. ARM gap UCAN less APAC 15.86 - 8.50 = 7.36 (2022), 17.20 - 7.29 = 9.91 (2024). H1 2026 revenue 24,809.7 / 51,200 = 48.5% of the guidance midpoint. Diluted shares 4,343,863 / 4,494,966 - 1 = -3.4%. Average buyback price Q2 2026 4.7bn / 52.93M shares = about $89; 2025 9,127.2 / 86.54M shares = about $105; 71.15 / 105 - 1 = -32%. Analyst target 92.93 / 71.15 - 1 = 31%. US revenue 18.5 / 13.8 - 1 = 34%. Hedging swing 124 - (-91) = 215. Revenue 2023-2025 45,183.0 / 33,723.3 - 1 = 34%; employees 16,000 / 13,000 - 1 = 23%. Q2 net income 3,401 / 3,125 - 1 = 8.8%. DVD revenue = total revenue less streaming revenue: 33,723.3 - 33,640.5 = 82.8 (2023); 31,615.6 - 31,469.9 = 145.7 (2022) - regional revenue, memberships and viewing share. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Netflix's Forms 10-K and 10-Q, shareholder letters, Nielsen's May 2026 Gauge and market data; operands shown in the source line.
  11. ReportedAverage revenue per UCAN membership was $15.86 in 2022, $16.28 in 2023 and $17.20 in 2024, against a global average of $11.70.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2024 - paid memberships and average monthly revenue per paying membership by region for 2022-2024, regional revenue for 2022, and the 2024 currency impact. — FY2024 · publ. January 2025 · source ↗
  12. ReportedAverage revenue per UCAN membership was $15.86 in 2022, $16.28 in 2023 and $17.20 in 2024, against a global average of $11.70.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2024 - paid memberships and average monthly revenue per paying membership by region for 2022-2024, regional revenue for 2022, and the 2024 currency impact. — FY2024 · publ. January 2025 · source ↗
  13. ReportedProfitability is not disclosed: Netflix reports one operating segment and no regional profit.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business and Item 7 overview: the single segment, pricing plans, Open Connect, employees and the end of membership reporting. — FY2025 · publ. 23 January 2026 · source ↗
  14. Moat Explorer calcRevenue grew 5.6% in 2023, 16.7% in 2024 and 15.0% in 2025.
    Moat Explorer calculation from Netflix's reported financial statements, shareholder letters and market data ($ millions unless stated). Content amortization / revenue: 14,026.1 / 31,615.6 = 44.4% (2022); 14,197.4 / 33,723.3 = 42.1% (2023); 15,301.5 / 39,001.0 = 39.2% (2024); 16,422.2 / 45,183.0 = 36.3% (2025); Q2 2026 4,311.3 / 12,559.9 = 34.3%. Revenue growth 2022-2025: 45,183.0 / 31,615.6 - 1 = 43%; 2025 45,183.0 / 39,001.0 - 1 = 15.9%. Operating income 13,326.6 / 5,632.8 = 2.4 times. Gross margin (45,183.0 - 23,275.3) / 45,183.0 = 48.5% (2025); (33,723.3 - 19,715.4) / 33,723.3 = 41.5% (2023). Q3 2025 operating margin excluding the Brazil charge (3,248 + 619) / 11,510 = 33.6%. Additions to content assets Q2 2026 4,927.5 / 3,835.8 - 1 = 28%. Cash content spend = additions less change in content liabilities: 16,839.0 - 179.3 = 16,659.7 (2022), 12,554.7 + 585.6 = 13,140.3 (2023), 16,223.6 + 779.1 = 17,002.8 (2024), 17,096.6 + 610.8 = 17,707.5 (2025); ratio to amortization 16,659.7 / 14,026.1 = 1.19, 13,140.3 / 14,197.4 = 0.93, 17,002.8 / 15,301.5 = 1.11, 17,707.5 / 16,422.2 = 1.08. Licensed share of amortization 8,713.6 / 16,422.2 = 53%; licensed growth 8,713.6 / 7,689.0 - 1 = 13.3%; produced growth 7,708.6 / 7,612.5 - 1 = 1.3%. Produced share of content assets 20,639.8 / 32,778.4 = 63%; content assets / amortization 32,778.4 / 16,422.2 = 2.0 years. Tax incentives / produced amortization 1,000 / 7,708.6 = 13%; tax incentives / operating income 1,000 / 13,326.6 = 7.5%. Employees outside UCAN 16,000 - 10,900 = 5,100. Capex / revenue 688.2 / 45,183.0 = 1.5%; capex growth 688.2 / 439.5 - 1 = 57%. Free cash flow = operating cash flow less capex: 10,149.3 - 688.2 = 9,461.1 (2025); 7,361.4 - 439.5 = 6,921.8 (2024); 7,274.3 - 348.6 = 6,925.7 (2023); FCF / revenue 9,461.1 / 45,183.0 = 20.9%; FCF / net income 9,461.1 / 10,981.2 = 86%; capex / FCF 348.6 / 6,925.7 = 5.0%, 439.5 / 6,921.8 = 6.4%, 688.2 / 9,461.1 = 7.3%. Buybacks / FCF 9,127.2 / 9,461.1 = 96%; buybacks 2024 + 2025 6,263.7 + 9,127.2 = 15,390.9; diluted shares 4,261 / 4,349 - 1 = -2.0%; remaining authorization 27.1 / 296.24 = 9%. Year-end P/E = market value / net income: 213.10 / 5.408 = 39.4 (2023), 381.00 / 8.712 = 43.7 (2024), 397.29 / 10.981 = 36.2 (2025), trailing 296.24 / 13.650 = 21.7. Net debt / equity end 2025 (14,462.8 - 9,033.7 - 28.7) / 26,615.5 = 0.20; interest / operating income 776.5 / 13,326.6 = 5.8%; termination fee / 2025 net income 2,800 / 10,981.2 = 25%; ROE 10,981.2 / ((26,615.5 + 24,743.6) / 2) = 43%; net income growth 10,981.2 / 8,711.6 - 1 = 26%. Pre-tax income 2025 10,981.2 + 1,741.4 = 12,722.6, one point of tax rate = 127; six points = 763. UCAN ARM 17.20 / 15.86 - 1 = 8.4%; UCAN net additions 80,128 - 74,296 = 5,832 (2023), 89,625 - 80,128 = 9,497 (2024); paid memberships growth 301,626 / 260,276 - 1 = 16%; top plan price 37 / 32 - 1 = 15.6%. Obligations: due in 12 months / revenue 11,528.0 / 45,183.0 = 25.5%; obligations / debt 25.1 / 14.3 = 1.75; off balance sheet 18.4 / 24.0 = 76% (end 2025), 19.6 / 25.1 = 78% (June 2026). Advertising: 1.5 / 45.2 = 3.3% of 2025 revenue; 3.0 / 51.2 = 5.9% of the 2026 guidance midpoint (51.0 + 51.4) / 2 = 51.2. Nielsen gap 13.8 - 8.0 = 5.8 points. Regions: 2025 shares UCAN 19,957.2 / 45,183.0 = 44.2%, EMEA 14,514.6 / 45,183.0 = 32.1%, LATAM 5,357.5 / 45,183.0 = 11.9%, APAC 5,353.7 / 45,183.0 = 11.8%; Q2 2026 UCAN 5,432 / 12,560 = 43.2%. UCAN growth 14,873.8 / 14,084.6 - 1 = 5.6% (2023), 17,359.4 / 14,873.8 - 1 = 16.7% (2024), 19,957.2 / 17,359.4 - 1 = 15.0% (2025). EMEA memberships 101,133 / 76,729 - 1 = 31.8%; APAC memberships 57,541 / 38,023 - 1 = 51.3%; APAC revenue 5,353.7 / 3,570.2 - 1 = 50%. UCAN share of 2022 streaming revenue 14,084.6 / 31,469.9 = 44.8%. Memberships 2022-2024: UCAN 89,625 / 74,296 - 1 = 20.6%, LATAM 53,327 / 41,699 - 1 = 27.9%. ARM gap UCAN less APAC 15.86 - 8.50 = 7.36 (2022), 17.20 - 7.29 = 9.91 (2024). H1 2026 revenue 24,809.7 / 51,200 = 48.5% of the guidance midpoint. Diluted shares 4,343,863 / 4,494,966 - 1 = -3.4%. Average buyback price Q2 2026 4.7bn / 52.93M shares = about $89; 2025 9,127.2 / 86.54M shares = about $105; 71.15 / 105 - 1 = -32%. Analyst target 92.93 / 71.15 - 1 = 31%. US revenue 18.5 / 13.8 - 1 = 34%. Hedging swing 124 - (-91) = 215. Revenue 2023-2025 45,183.0 / 33,723.3 - 1 = 34%; employees 16,000 / 13,000 - 1 = 23%. Q2 net income 3,401 / 3,125 - 1 = 8.8%. DVD revenue = total revenue less streaming revenue: 33,723.3 - 33,640.5 = 82.8 (2023); 31,615.6 - 31,469.9 = 145.7 (2022) - content costs, margins and capital spending. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Netflix's Forms 10-K and 10-Q, shareholder letters, Nielsen's May 2026 Gauge and market data; operands shown in the source line.
  15. ReportedQuarterly growth then fell from 18% in the fourth quarter of 2025 to 14% and 10%.
    Netflix second-quarter 2026 shareholder letter, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1 - quarterly results, regional revenue, 2026 guidance, view hours, live programming and advertising - financial results, regional revenue and 2026 guidance. — Q2 2026 · publ. 16 July 2026 · source ↗
  16. ReportedThe region is the most penetrated Netflix has, and the latest price change had only a partial effect in the second quarter.
    Netflix second-quarter 2026 shareholder letter, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1 - quarterly results, regional revenue, 2026 guidance, view hours, live programming and advertising - financial results, regional revenue and 2026 guidance. — Q2 2026 · publ. 16 July 2026 · source ↗
  17. ReportedAdvertising, about $3 billion expected company-wide in 2026, will matter most here.
    Netflix second-quarter 2026 shareholder letter, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1 - quarterly results, regional revenue, 2026 guidance, view hours, live programming and advertising - financial results, regional revenue and 2026 guidance. — Q2 2026 · publ. 16 July 2026 · source ↗
  18. ReportedAbout 10,900 of Netflix's roughly 16,000 employees, 68%, work in the United States and Canada, against 44% of revenue.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business and Item 7 overview: the single segment, pricing plans, Open Connect, employees and the end of membership reporting. — FY2025 · publ. 23 January 2026 · source ↗
  19. Moat Explorer calcThe UCAN share of revenue has also slipped, from about 44.8% in 2022 to 44.2% in 2025, as the other regions grew faster.
    Moat Explorer calculation from Netflix's reported financial statements, shareholder letters and market data ($ millions unless stated). Content amortization / revenue: 14,026.1 / 31,615.6 = 44.4% (2022); 14,197.4 / 33,723.3 = 42.1% (2023); 15,301.5 / 39,001.0 = 39.2% (2024); 16,422.2 / 45,183.0 = 36.3% (2025); Q2 2026 4,311.3 / 12,559.9 = 34.3%. Revenue growth 2022-2025: 45,183.0 / 31,615.6 - 1 = 43%; 2025 45,183.0 / 39,001.0 - 1 = 15.9%. Operating income 13,326.6 / 5,632.8 = 2.4 times. Gross margin (45,183.0 - 23,275.3) / 45,183.0 = 48.5% (2025); (33,723.3 - 19,715.4) / 33,723.3 = 41.5% (2023). Q3 2025 operating margin excluding the Brazil charge (3,248 + 619) / 11,510 = 33.6%. Additions to content assets Q2 2026 4,927.5 / 3,835.8 - 1 = 28%. Cash content spend = additions less change in content liabilities: 16,839.0 - 179.3 = 16,659.7 (2022), 12,554.7 + 585.6 = 13,140.3 (2023), 16,223.6 + 779.1 = 17,002.8 (2024), 17,096.6 + 610.8 = 17,707.5 (2025); ratio to amortization 16,659.7 / 14,026.1 = 1.19, 13,140.3 / 14,197.4 = 0.93, 17,002.8 / 15,301.5 = 1.11, 17,707.5 / 16,422.2 = 1.08. Licensed share of amortization 8,713.6 / 16,422.2 = 53%; licensed growth 8,713.6 / 7,689.0 - 1 = 13.3%; produced growth 7,708.6 / 7,612.5 - 1 = 1.3%. Produced share of content assets 20,639.8 / 32,778.4 = 63%; content assets / amortization 32,778.4 / 16,422.2 = 2.0 years. Tax incentives / produced amortization 1,000 / 7,708.6 = 13%; tax incentives / operating income 1,000 / 13,326.6 = 7.5%. Employees outside UCAN 16,000 - 10,900 = 5,100. Capex / revenue 688.2 / 45,183.0 = 1.5%; capex growth 688.2 / 439.5 - 1 = 57%. Free cash flow = operating cash flow less capex: 10,149.3 - 688.2 = 9,461.1 (2025); 7,361.4 - 439.5 = 6,921.8 (2024); 7,274.3 - 348.6 = 6,925.7 (2023); FCF / revenue 9,461.1 / 45,183.0 = 20.9%; FCF / net income 9,461.1 / 10,981.2 = 86%; capex / FCF 348.6 / 6,925.7 = 5.0%, 439.5 / 6,921.8 = 6.4%, 688.2 / 9,461.1 = 7.3%. Buybacks / FCF 9,127.2 / 9,461.1 = 96%; buybacks 2024 + 2025 6,263.7 + 9,127.2 = 15,390.9; diluted shares 4,261 / 4,349 - 1 = -2.0%; remaining authorization 27.1 / 296.24 = 9%. Year-end P/E = market value / net income: 213.10 / 5.408 = 39.4 (2023), 381.00 / 8.712 = 43.7 (2024), 397.29 / 10.981 = 36.2 (2025), trailing 296.24 / 13.650 = 21.7. Net debt / equity end 2025 (14,462.8 - 9,033.7 - 28.7) / 26,615.5 = 0.20; interest / operating income 776.5 / 13,326.6 = 5.8%; termination fee / 2025 net income 2,800 / 10,981.2 = 25%; ROE 10,981.2 / ((26,615.5 + 24,743.6) / 2) = 43%; net income growth 10,981.2 / 8,711.6 - 1 = 26%. Pre-tax income 2025 10,981.2 + 1,741.4 = 12,722.6, one point of tax rate = 127; six points = 763. UCAN ARM 17.20 / 15.86 - 1 = 8.4%; UCAN net additions 80,128 - 74,296 = 5,832 (2023), 89,625 - 80,128 = 9,497 (2024); paid memberships growth 301,626 / 260,276 - 1 = 16%; top plan price 37 / 32 - 1 = 15.6%. Obligations: due in 12 months / revenue 11,528.0 / 45,183.0 = 25.5%; obligations / debt 25.1 / 14.3 = 1.75; off balance sheet 18.4 / 24.0 = 76% (end 2025), 19.6 / 25.1 = 78% (June 2026). Advertising: 1.5 / 45.2 = 3.3% of 2025 revenue; 3.0 / 51.2 = 5.9% of the 2026 guidance midpoint (51.0 + 51.4) / 2 = 51.2. Nielsen gap 13.8 - 8.0 = 5.8 points. Regions: 2025 shares UCAN 19,957.2 / 45,183.0 = 44.2%, EMEA 14,514.6 / 45,183.0 = 32.1%, LATAM 5,357.5 / 45,183.0 = 11.9%, APAC 5,353.7 / 45,183.0 = 11.8%; Q2 2026 UCAN 5,432 / 12,560 = 43.2%. UCAN growth 14,873.8 / 14,084.6 - 1 = 5.6% (2023), 17,359.4 / 14,873.8 - 1 = 16.7% (2024), 19,957.2 / 17,359.4 - 1 = 15.0% (2025). EMEA memberships 101,133 / 76,729 - 1 = 31.8%; APAC memberships 57,541 / 38,023 - 1 = 51.3%; APAC revenue 5,353.7 / 3,570.2 - 1 = 50%. UCAN share of 2022 streaming revenue 14,084.6 / 31,469.9 = 44.8%. Memberships 2022-2024: UCAN 89,625 / 74,296 - 1 = 20.6%, LATAM 53,327 / 41,699 - 1 = 27.9%. ARM gap UCAN less APAC 15.86 - 8.50 = 7.36 (2022), 17.20 - 7.29 = 9.91 (2024). H1 2026 revenue 24,809.7 / 51,200 = 48.5% of the guidance midpoint. Diluted shares 4,343,863 / 4,494,966 - 1 = -3.4%. Average buyback price Q2 2026 4.7bn / 52.93M shares = about $89; 2025 9,127.2 / 86.54M shares = about $105; 71.15 / 105 - 1 = -32%. Analyst target 92.93 / 71.15 - 1 = 31%. US revenue 18.5 / 13.8 - 1 = 34%. Hedging swing 124 - (-91) = 215. Revenue 2023-2025 45,183.0 / 33,723.3 - 1 = 34%; employees 16,000 / 13,000 - 1 = 23%. Q2 net income 3,401 / 3,125 - 1 = 8.8%. DVD revenue = total revenue less streaming revenue: 33,723.3 - 33,640.5 = 82.8 (2023); 31,615.6 - 31,469.9 = 145.7 (2022) - regional revenue, memberships and viewing share. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Netflix's Forms 10-K and 10-Q, shareholder letters, Nielsen's May 2026 Gauge and market data; operands shown in the source line.
  20. ReportedRevenue includes hedging gains and losses, a loss of $91 million in 2025 against a gain of $124 million in 2024, allocated across the regions.
    Netflix Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: streaming revenue by region. — FY2025 · publ. 23 January 2026 · source ↗
  21. Moat Explorer calcThe swing of about $215 million between the two years is small against UCAN's $19,957 million, but it means a year of regional growth can be flattered or held back by the company's currency hedges rather than by members.
    Moat Explorer calculation from Netflix's reported financial statements, shareholder letters and market data ($ millions unless stated). Content amortization / revenue: 14,026.1 / 31,615.6 = 44.4% (2022); 14,197.4 / 33,723.3 = 42.1% (2023); 15,301.5 / 39,001.0 = 39.2% (2024); 16,422.2 / 45,183.0 = 36.3% (2025); Q2 2026 4,311.3 / 12,559.9 = 34.3%. Revenue growth 2022-2025: 45,183.0 / 31,615.6 - 1 = 43%; 2025 45,183.0 / 39,001.0 - 1 = 15.9%. Operating income 13,326.6 / 5,632.8 = 2.4 times. Gross margin (45,183.0 - 23,275.3) / 45,183.0 = 48.5% (2025); (33,723.3 - 19,715.4) / 33,723.3 = 41.5% (2023). Q3 2025 operating margin excluding the Brazil charge (3,248 + 619) / 11,510 = 33.6%. Additions to content assets Q2 2026 4,927.5 / 3,835.8 - 1 = 28%. Cash content spend = additions less change in content liabilities: 16,839.0 - 179.3 = 16,659.7 (2022), 12,554.7 + 585.6 = 13,140.3 (2023), 16,223.6 + 779.1 = 17,002.8 (2024), 17,096.6 + 610.8 = 17,707.5 (2025); ratio to amortization 16,659.7 / 14,026.1 = 1.19, 13,140.3 / 14,197.4 = 0.93, 17,002.8 / 15,301.5 = 1.11, 17,707.5 / 16,422.2 = 1.08. Licensed share of amortization 8,713.6 / 16,422.2 = 53%; licensed growth 8,713.6 / 7,689.0 - 1 = 13.3%; produced growth 7,708.6 / 7,612.5 - 1 = 1.3%. Produced share of content assets 20,639.8 / 32,778.4 = 63%; content assets / amortization 32,778.4 / 16,422.2 = 2.0 years. Tax incentives / produced amortization 1,000 / 7,708.6 = 13%; tax incentives / operating income 1,000 / 13,326.6 = 7.5%. Employees outside UCAN 16,000 - 10,900 = 5,100. Capex / revenue 688.2 / 45,183.0 = 1.5%; capex growth 688.2 / 439.5 - 1 = 57%. Free cash flow = operating cash flow less capex: 10,149.3 - 688.2 = 9,461.1 (2025); 7,361.4 - 439.5 = 6,921.8 (2024); 7,274.3 - 348.6 = 6,925.7 (2023); FCF / revenue 9,461.1 / 45,183.0 = 20.9%; FCF / net income 9,461.1 / 10,981.2 = 86%; capex / FCF 348.6 / 6,925.7 = 5.0%, 439.5 / 6,921.8 = 6.4%, 688.2 / 9,461.1 = 7.3%. Buybacks / FCF 9,127.2 / 9,461.1 = 96%; buybacks 2024 + 2025 6,263.7 + 9,127.2 = 15,390.9; diluted shares 4,261 / 4,349 - 1 = -2.0%; remaining authorization 27.1 / 296.24 = 9%. Year-end P/E = market value / net income: 213.10 / 5.408 = 39.4 (2023), 381.00 / 8.712 = 43.7 (2024), 397.29 / 10.981 = 36.2 (2025), trailing 296.24 / 13.650 = 21.7. Net debt / equity end 2025 (14,462.8 - 9,033.7 - 28.7) / 26,615.5 = 0.20; interest / operating income 776.5 / 13,326.6 = 5.8%; termination fee / 2025 net income 2,800 / 10,981.2 = 25%; ROE 10,981.2 / ((26,615.5 + 24,743.6) / 2) = 43%; net income growth 10,981.2 / 8,711.6 - 1 = 26%. Pre-tax income 2025 10,981.2 + 1,741.4 = 12,722.6, one point of tax rate = 127; six points = 763. UCAN ARM 17.20 / 15.86 - 1 = 8.4%; UCAN net additions 80,128 - 74,296 = 5,832 (2023), 89,625 - 80,128 = 9,497 (2024); paid memberships growth 301,626 / 260,276 - 1 = 16%; top plan price 37 / 32 - 1 = 15.6%. Obligations: due in 12 months / revenue 11,528.0 / 45,183.0 = 25.5%; obligations / debt 25.1 / 14.3 = 1.75; off balance sheet 18.4 / 24.0 = 76% (end 2025), 19.6 / 25.1 = 78% (June 2026). Advertising: 1.5 / 45.2 = 3.3% of 2025 revenue; 3.0 / 51.2 = 5.9% of the 2026 guidance midpoint (51.0 + 51.4) / 2 = 51.2. Nielsen gap 13.8 - 8.0 = 5.8 points. Regions: 2025 shares UCAN 19,957.2 / 45,183.0 = 44.2%, EMEA 14,514.6 / 45,183.0 = 32.1%, LATAM 5,357.5 / 45,183.0 = 11.9%, APAC 5,353.7 / 45,183.0 = 11.8%; Q2 2026 UCAN 5,432 / 12,560 = 43.2%. UCAN growth 14,873.8 / 14,084.6 - 1 = 5.6% (2023), 17,359.4 / 14,873.8 - 1 = 16.7% (2024), 19,957.2 / 17,359.4 - 1 = 15.0% (2025). EMEA memberships 101,133 / 76,729 - 1 = 31.8%; APAC memberships 57,541 / 38,023 - 1 = 51.3%; APAC revenue 5,353.7 / 3,570.2 - 1 = 50%. UCAN share of 2022 streaming revenue 14,084.6 / 31,469.9 = 44.8%. Memberships 2022-2024: UCAN 89,625 / 74,296 - 1 = 20.6%, LATAM 53,327 / 41,699 - 1 = 27.9%. ARM gap UCAN less APAC 15.86 - 8.50 = 7.36 (2022), 17.20 - 7.29 = 9.91 (2024). H1 2026 revenue 24,809.7 / 51,200 = 48.5% of the guidance midpoint. Diluted shares 4,343,863 / 4,494,966 - 1 = -3.4%. Average buyback price Q2 2026 4.7bn / 52.93M shares = about $89; 2025 9,127.2 / 86.54M shares = about $105; 71.15 / 105 - 1 = -32%. Analyst target 92.93 / 71.15 - 1 = 31%. US revenue 18.5 / 13.8 - 1 = 34%. Hedging swing 124 - (-91) = 215. Revenue 2023-2025 45,183.0 / 33,723.3 - 1 = 34%; employees 16,000 / 13,000 - 1 = 23%. Q2 net income 3,401 / 3,125 - 1 = 8.8%. DVD revenue = total revenue less streaming revenue: 33,723.3 - 33,640.5 = 82.8 (2023); 31,615.6 - 31,469.9 = 145.7 (2022) - regional revenue, memberships and viewing share. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Netflix's Forms 10-K and 10-Q, shareholder letters, Nielsen's May 2026 Gauge and market data; operands shown in the source line.
Sources
Generated September 26, 2026