Dell and the Enterprise ChannelNarrow moat
Kioxia Holdings (285A) — moat facet
It crossed the ten percent line going up and vanished from the table going up faster, which is what a 37 percent revenue year does to a concentration ratio.
The third name is the one that shows what the data-centre turn actually looks like in a customer list.
Dell was ¥94.0 billion of Kioxia's revenue in the year to March 2024 — 8.7%, below the disclosure threshold — then ¥171.2 billion and 10.0% the following year, which put it in the table1. In the year to March 2026 it dropped out again, not because it shrank but because Kioxia's total grew 37%.
What Dell represents is the channel through which enterprise storage actually reaches its user. A server maker qualifies a drive, builds it into a platform, and sells it to the operator. That intermediation is why a company selling more than half its output as data-centre and enterprise drives can still have relatively few names in its customer table: the names are integrators, not end users.
It also means Kioxia's visibility into demand is second-hand. A server maker's order reflects its own inventory position as much as its customers' appetite, which is the same lag every component supplier in this collection complains about.
The offset is that a drive qualified into a server platform stays there for the life of the platform.
The number to watch is the balance between direct hyperscaler relationships and channel sales. Kioxia does not disclose it, and the long-term agreement push implies it is trying to move the balance toward the former.
Dell crossed the 10% threshold going up and dropped out of the table going up faster. The channel relationship is intact; the ratio moved with the denominator.
8.7%, then 10.0%, then out of the table because Kioxia's total grew 37%. Dell represents the channel through which enterprise storage actually reaches its user, which means Kioxia's demand signal is second-hand. The split between direct hyperscaler sales and channel sales is not disclosed.
Source: Kioxia Holdings, Annual Securities Report for the year to 31 March 2026 ↗- ReportedDell was ¥94.0bn and 8.7% of revenue, then ¥171.2bn and 10.0%.Kioxia Holdings Corporation, Annual Securities Report for the year from 1 April 2024 to 31 March 2025 (7th Period) — revenue ¥1,706,460M against ¥1,076,584M; revenue by application SSD & Storage ¥991,147M against ¥516,361M, Smart Devices ¥501,142M against ¥374,293M, Other ¥214,171M against ¥185,930M. Major customers, with the ratio to total sales: Apple group ¥225.3bn (20.9%) in the year to March 2024 and ¥300.5bn (17.6%) in the year to March 2025; Sandisk group ¥170.5bn (15.8%) and ¥198.6bn (11.6%); Dell group ¥94.0bn (8.7%) and ¥171.2bn (10.0%). Revenue in the United States ¥758,666M against ¥393,909M and in China ¥323,357M against ¥217,870M; non-current assets in Japan ¥1,714,351M against ¥1,737,806M. Total equity ¥737.7bn against ¥449.8bn. — year to 31 March 2025 · publ. 2025-06 · source ↗