◆ What the Market Isn't Pricing In
SK hynix (SKHY) — the variant view
A record quarter that missed, a stock 44 percent off its high, and a low multiple on peak earnings -- which in memory has never been a bargain the market overlooked but its warning label.
📈 SKHY valuation, revenue & earnings — P/E, P/S, revenue, EPS →SK hynix reported the best quarter in its history and the stock fell about 9.6%1. It has since traded near ₩1,688,000 — roughly 44% below its 52-week high of ₩2,987,0002.
That is not a market failing to understand the results. It is a market that understands them completely and is pricing something else: the price of DRAM in 2028. Memory has always been valued this way, which is why its price-to-earnings ratio moves counter-cyclically — cheap at the top, when earnings are peaking and about to fall, and expensive at the bottom, when they are negative. A low multiple on record earnings is not the market missing a bargain. It is the market's warning label.
The market is very often right about this, and 2023 is the proof: revenue of ₩32.77 trillion and a ₩9.11 trillion net loss3, three years before a quarter with a 76% operating margin4.
What the price is arguably not capturing is the balance sheet. ₩69.4 trillion of net cash5 changes what a downturn does to this company. Previous memory busts forced producers to cut capital spending precisely when capacity should have been ordered, which is how cycles get amplified. A producer that can build through the trough emerges from it with a cost position rivals could not fund.
The other under-weighted item runs the other way and deserves saying plainly: there is no contracted volume at all. The report states there is no order backlog based on long-term supply contracts and that prices are agreed monthly and quarterly6 — so when the turn comes, it will arrive in the quarter it starts.
The number that decides which reading is right is operating margin over the next eight quarters, and the market's current answer is already visible in the multiple.
- ReportedSK hynix's shares fell about 9.6% on the second-quarter results.CNBC — 'SK Hynix shares fall; earnings jump fails to satisfy AI expectations'. Operating profit rose 557% year on year to 60.54 trillion won but fell short of analyst expectations of about 64 trillion won on revenue of about 84 trillion won, and the shares dropped about 9.6%. — Q2 2026 results reaction · publ. 2026-07-29 · source ↗
- Third-party estimateThe shares traded near ₩1,688,000 in late August 2026, against a 52-week high of ₩2,987,000.Market data for SK hynix (KRX: 000660) — a share price of about W 1,688,000 on 26 August 2026, a market capitalisation near W 1,200 trillion, and a 52-week range of W 253,000 to W 2,987,000. — August 2026 · publ. 2026-08-27 · source ↗
- Reported2023 revenue of ₩32,766bn and a loss for the year of ₩9,138bn.SK hynix Inc., Form 424B4 prospectus — consolidated income statements and management's discussion (SEC, CIK 2120882). FY2025: revenue W 97,147bn, cost of sales W 38,456bn, gross profit W 58,691bn, selling and administrative expenses W 5,019bn, research and development W 6,466bn, profit for the year W 42,948bn. FY2024: revenue W 66,193bn, gross profit W 31,828bn, R&D W 4,436bn, profit W 19,797bn. FY2023: revenue W 32,766bn, cost of sales W 33,299bn, a gross loss of W 533bn, an operating loss of W 7,730bn and a loss for the year of W 9,138bn, following a fall in memory prices from the third quarter of 2022. Q1 2026: revenue W 52,576bn, cost of sales W 10,897bn, gross profit W 41,679bn, R&D W 2,451bn, profit W 40,346bn. — FY2023-FY2025 and Q1 2026 · publ. 2026-07-10 · source ↗
- ReportedAn operating margin near 76% in the second quarter of 2026.SK hynix Inc., preliminary results of operations for the second quarter of 2026 (SEC Form 6-K, 29 July 2026) — revenue W 79,318,746 million, up 50.9% on Q1 2026's W 52,576,287 million and 256.8% on Q2 2025's W 22,231,952 million; operating profit W 60,542,608 million, up 61.0% sequentially and 557.2% year on year, an operating margin of about 76%; profit before income tax W 122,708,355 million; profit for the period W 93,922,593 million. First-half 2026 revenue W 131,895,033 million, operating profit W 98,152,891 million and profit W 134,268,502 million. Prepared on a consolidated basis under K-IFRS and unaudited. — Q2 2026 (quarter ended 30 June 2026) · publ. 2026-07-29 · source ↗
- ReportedNet cash near ₩69 trillion — ₩87,957.9bn of cash against ₩18,586.6bn of borrowings.SK hynix Inc., semi-annual business report for the six months to 30 June 2026 (SEC Form 6-K, 18 August 2026) — 'The Company determines supply volumes and prices on a monthly and quarterly basis by mutual agreement with major customers, and there is no order backlog based on long term supply contracts.' Total equity W 262,693,228 million at 30 June 2026 against W 120,666,751 million at 31 December 2025; cash and cash equivalents, short-term financial instruments and short-term investment assets W 87,957,923 million against W 34,942,253 million; total borrowings W 18,586,634 million against W 22,247,905 million; debt-to-equity 32.80%, net borrowing ratio not disclosed because it is negative. For the six months to 30 June 2026, revenues of W 17,608,702 million (13.35%) and W 17,187,421 million (13.03%) were derived from external Customers A and B respectively; for the six months to 30 June 2025, W 10,890,639 million (27.31%) came from Customer A. IDC market share: DRAM 29.9% in 2023, 33.4% in 2024, 34.8% in 2025 and 29.1% in Q1 2026; NAND 19.6%, 21.4%, 20.9% and 18.5%. Gartner's world DRAM market: US$78.7bn in 2022 (-15.4%), US$49.9bn in 2023 (-36.5%), US$91.6bn in 2024 (+82.7%) and US$146.9bn in 2025 (+60.0%). Announced investments include approximately W 15 trillion for M15X in Cheongju, approximately W 19 trillion for the P&T7 advanced packaging plant and W 21,608.1 billion for Yongin, against long-term plans of roughly W 600 trillion for the Yongin cluster and W 100 trillion for Cheongju. The company developed the world's first 321-layer QLC NAND. China's State Administration for Market Regulation cleared the Intel NAND acquisition conditionally, obliging the group to maintain a reasonable pricing policy, increase production and support the entry of third-party competitors into the Chinese eSSD market for five years from December 2021. — six months to 30 June 2026 · publ. 2026-08-18 · source ↗
- ReportedThere is no order backlog based on long-term supply contracts, and prices are agreed monthly and quarterly.SK hynix Inc., semi-annual business report for the six months to 30 June 2026 (SEC Form 6-K, 18 August 2026) — 'The Company determines supply volumes and prices on a monthly and quarterly basis by mutual agreement with major customers, and there is no order backlog based on long term supply contracts.' Total equity W 262,693,228 million at 30 June 2026 against W 120,666,751 million at 31 December 2025; cash and cash equivalents, short-term financial instruments and short-term investment assets W 87,957,923 million against W 34,942,253 million; total borrowings W 18,586,634 million against W 22,247,905 million; debt-to-equity 32.80%, net borrowing ratio not disclosed because it is negative. For the six months to 30 June 2026, revenues of W 17,608,702 million (13.35%) and W 17,187,421 million (13.03%) were derived from external Customers A and B respectively; for the six months to 30 June 2025, W 10,890,639 million (27.31%) came from Customer A. IDC market share: DRAM 29.9% in 2023, 33.4% in 2024, 34.8% in 2025 and 29.1% in Q1 2026; NAND 19.6%, 21.4%, 20.9% and 18.5%. Gartner's world DRAM market: US$78.7bn in 2022 (-15.4%), US$49.9bn in 2023 (-36.5%), US$91.6bn in 2024 (+82.7%) and US$146.9bn in 2025 (+60.0%). Announced investments include approximately W 15 trillion for M15X in Cheongju, approximately W 19 trillion for the P&T7 advanced packaging plant and W 21,608.1 billion for Yongin, against long-term plans of roughly W 600 trillion for the Yongin cluster and W 100 trillion for Cheongju. The company developed the world's first 321-layer QLC NAND. China's State Administration for Market Regulation cleared the Intel NAND acquisition conditionally, obliging the group to maintain a reasonable pricing policy, increase production and support the entry of third-party competitors into the Chinese eSSD market for five years from December 2021. — six months to 30 June 2026 · publ. 2026-08-18 · source ↗
- SK hynix Form 424B4 prospectus for the Nasdaq offering (SEC EDGAR)
- SK hynix (KRX: 000660) — market data
- SK hynix — preliminary results of operations, Q2 2026 (SEC Form 6-K)
- SK hynix — semi-annual business report to 30 June 2026 (SEC Form 6-K)