The New Business ModelsThin moat

Sandisk (SNDK) — moat facet

Sandisk is trying to build a moat it has never had by writing it down — and every contract in the book was signed at the top of the sharpest price rise the industry has ever had.

Sandisk is trying to build a moat it has never had, by writing it down.

The New Business Models, in numbers12agreements signedsince April 2026$31.3bntransaction price,two contracts alone$2,742Mof customer depositsand advances heldRefund liabilities $1,500M (from $126M) plus contract liabilities $1,242M at 3 July 2026.
The first mechanism this industry has had for turning a spot commodity into contracted revenue — all of it months old.

The instrument is a long-term agreement the company calls a New Business Model. Each one commits Sandisk to deliver, and the customer to purchase, a stated volume of product, mostly over multi-year periods, with pricing built from fixed and variable components and supported by financial guarantees intended to protect Sandisk if the customer does not take what it promised.1 The stated ambition is not modest: NBMs "are expected to become our predominant way of doing business," delivering greater predictability of revenue, better production planning and supply assurance, and — in the company's words — reduced exposure "to certain elements of industry cyclicality."2

The scale arrived quickly. Five agreements were announced on the April 2026 earnings call; five more followed by August, three with new customers and two expanding existing ones. Then, after the fiscal year ended, two further agreements with an aggregate transaction price of $31.3 billion — one and a half times the whole of fiscal 2026 revenue, in two contracts.3 The balance sheet already shows the shape of it: $1,242 million of contract liabilities from customer advances and $1,500 million of refund liabilities from customer security deposits.4

If this works, it is the most important thing about the company. NAND's problem has never been demand or technology; it is that every producer sells a fungible product at a spot price into a market that periodically has too much of it. A book of multi-year volume commitments backed by cash deposits is the first mechanism any of these companies has had to interrupt that.

Rated thin, and that is a statement about evidence rather than intent. Every one of these contracts was signed at the top of the sharpest price rise in the industry's history, none has been tested by a downturn, and the company itself lists the ways they can go wrong.

The number is the share of output committed under NBMs. Sandisk has not disclosed it. Until it does, this is a strategy rather than a moat.

Moat trajectory: Widening

This did not exist a year ago. Ten agreements signed in about four months, two more after the year end worth $31.3 billion, refund liabilities up from $126 million to $1,500 million, and a stated intention to make NBMs the predominant way of doing business.

The number that tests this moat
Reported
Aggregate transaction price of the newest agreements
$31.3bn, in two contracts

Signed after the fiscal year ended, on top of ten agreements during the year. Each New Business Model commits Sandisk to deliver and the customer to purchase stated volumes over mostly multi-year periods, with fixed and variable pricing components and financial guarantees behind the customer obligations. Sandisk expects NBMs to become its predominant way of doing business. Watch the share of output committed under them — Sandisk has not disclosed it, and until it does this is a strategy rather than a moat.

Source: Sandisk Form 10-K, FY2026 ↗
Aspects of the moat
⚠ Threats to the moat
References
  1. ReportedEach one commits Sandisk to deliver, and the customer to purchase, a stated volume of product, mostly over multi-year periods, with pricing built from fixed and variable components and supported by financial guarantees intended to protect Sandisk if the customer does not take what it promised. The stated ambition is not modest: NBMs "are expected to become our predominant way of doing business,...
    Sandisk Corporation, Form 10-K FY2026 — Item 1A, Risk Factors, and the New Business Models discussion in Item 7. Sandisk states that the terms of its agreements with Kioxia require that substantially all of its flash-based memory be obtained from Flash Ventures, which limits its ability to respond to market demand and supply changes; that it is contractually obligated to pay for 50% of the fixed costs of Flash Ventures regardless of whether it orders any flash-based memory and that orders placed on a rolling basis are binding; that while Flash Ventures is operating its agreements contain limitations on its ability to work with third parties to manufacture flash-based memory, to fabricate beyond the capacity specified in the agreements, or to manufacture flash itself except to the extent it acquires manufacturing capacity of a Flash Ventures entity through dissolution, termination or acquisition; and that this could also impair its ability to consolidate with other industry participants who manufacture flash-based memory. It notes that in 2023 Western Digital incurred $296 million in charges for unabsorbed manufacturing overhead from reduced utilisation and $108 million of inventory write-downs, and that in 2025 Sandisk incurred $75 million of underutilisation charges and $24 million of inventory write-downs. It states that although the operating period has been extended every time since the ventures began, there is a risk that Sandisk and Kioxia will be unable to agree on a further extension of one or more entities, and that it cannot unilaterally direct most of Flash Ventures' activities. A separate risk factor states that provisions in the joint venture agreements with Kioxia may deter, prevent or delay an acquisition of Sandisk, listing restrictions limiting its ability and that of its affiliates to manufacture or have a third party fabricate flash memory outside Flash Ventures' Yokkaichi and Kitakami facilities, restrictions limiting fabrication beyond its share of Flash Ventures' capacity, and restrictions limiting transfers of equity in the Flash Ventures entities, particularly partial transfers; an acquirer would need Kioxia's consent or waiver with no guarantee of obtaining it, and the provisions could substantially impede the ability of public stockholders to benefit from future strategic transactions and adversely affect the market price. On the New Business Models, Sandisk states that these long-term agreements commit it to deliver and customers to purchase a stated volume of products mostly over multi-year periods, with pricing mechanisms consisting of fixed and variable components supported by financial guarantees; that NBMs are expected to become its predominant way of doing business, contributing to greater predictability of revenue, supporting production planning and enhancing supply assurance; and that while the agreements do not eliminate the risks associated with customer demand, market conditions or operational execution, it believes they reduce certain elements of industry cyclicality. The risk factor warns that if it is unable to deliver products in the quantities, at the times, or meeting the specifications required, it may face contractual damages, other financial penalties or early termination; that if a customer breaches its purchase obligations it may need to find alternative customers and may be unable to resell those products at comparable prices, or at all, resulting in reduced revenue, lower margins, excess inventory, or manufacturing underutilisation or asset impairment charges; that the agreements may constrain a portion of its available supply and limit its flexibility to respond to changes in market conditions, including shifts in demand, pricing opportunities, or customer requirements; and that the financial guarantees are intended to offset a portion of revenue that may be lost but may not fully offset such lost revenue depending on the specific circumstances, when during the contract term the failure occurs, and other factors. Further risk factors cover rising customer credit risk, loss of revenue from a key customer or customer base consolidation, and that the share repurchase programme may not enhance shareholder value and could affect the stock price and reduce financial flexibility. Sandisk discloses pending investigations initiated by the United States under Section 232 of the Trade Expansion Act of 1962 and Section 301 of the Trade Act of 1974 that may impact tariff rates; the majority of its products sold in the US are currently exempt from tariffs, and additional tariff increases or loss of exemptions would increase cost of goods sold and could reduce demand. On the Nanya investment made in March 2026, it warns that increases in the value of the investment could influence financial results in accordance with GAAP accounting in a manner that is not representative of its core business. — FY2026 · publ. 2026-08-17 · source ↗
  2. ReportedThe stated ambition is not modest: NBMs "are expected to become our predominant way of doing business," delivering greater predictability of revenue, better production planning and supply assurance, and — in the company's words — reduced exposure "to certain elements of industry cyclicality." The scale arrived quickly.
    Sandisk Corporation, Form 10-K FY2026 — Item 1A, Risk Factors, and the New Business Models discussion in Item 7. Sandisk states that the terms of its agreements with Kioxia require that substantially all of its flash-based memory be obtained from Flash Ventures, which limits its ability to respond to market demand and supply changes; that it is contractually obligated to pay for 50% of the fixed costs of Flash Ventures regardless of whether it orders any flash-based memory and that orders placed on a rolling basis are binding; that while Flash Ventures is operating its agreements contain limitations on its ability to work with third parties to manufacture flash-based memory, to fabricate beyond the capacity specified in the agreements, or to manufacture flash itself except to the extent it acquires manufacturing capacity of a Flash Ventures entity through dissolution, termination or acquisition; and that this could also impair its ability to consolidate with other industry participants who manufacture flash-based memory. It notes that in 2023 Western Digital incurred $296 million in charges for unabsorbed manufacturing overhead from reduced utilisation and $108 million of inventory write-downs, and that in 2025 Sandisk incurred $75 million of underutilisation charges and $24 million of inventory write-downs. It states that although the operating period has been extended every time since the ventures began, there is a risk that Sandisk and Kioxia will be unable to agree on a further extension of one or more entities, and that it cannot unilaterally direct most of Flash Ventures' activities. A separate risk factor states that provisions in the joint venture agreements with Kioxia may deter, prevent or delay an acquisition of Sandisk, listing restrictions limiting its ability and that of its affiliates to manufacture or have a third party fabricate flash memory outside Flash Ventures' Yokkaichi and Kitakami facilities, restrictions limiting fabrication beyond its share of Flash Ventures' capacity, and restrictions limiting transfers of equity in the Flash Ventures entities, particularly partial transfers; an acquirer would need Kioxia's consent or waiver with no guarantee of obtaining it, and the provisions could substantially impede the ability of public stockholders to benefit from future strategic transactions and adversely affect the market price. On the New Business Models, Sandisk states that these long-term agreements commit it to deliver and customers to purchase a stated volume of products mostly over multi-year periods, with pricing mechanisms consisting of fixed and variable components supported by financial guarantees; that NBMs are expected to become its predominant way of doing business, contributing to greater predictability of revenue, supporting production planning and enhancing supply assurance; and that while the agreements do not eliminate the risks associated with customer demand, market conditions or operational execution, it believes they reduce certain elements of industry cyclicality. The risk factor warns that if it is unable to deliver products in the quantities, at the times, or meeting the specifications required, it may face contractual damages, other financial penalties or early termination; that if a customer breaches its purchase obligations it may need to find alternative customers and may be unable to resell those products at comparable prices, or at all, resulting in reduced revenue, lower margins, excess inventory, or manufacturing underutilisation or asset impairment charges; that the agreements may constrain a portion of its available supply and limit its flexibility to respond to changes in market conditions, including shifts in demand, pricing opportunities, or customer requirements; and that the financial guarantees are intended to offset a portion of revenue that may be lost but may not fully offset such lost revenue depending on the specific circumstances, when during the contract term the failure occurs, and other factors. Further risk factors cover rising customer credit risk, loss of revenue from a key customer or customer base consolidation, and that the share repurchase programme may not enhance shareholder value and could affect the stock price and reduce financial flexibility. Sandisk discloses pending investigations initiated by the United States under Section 232 of the Trade Expansion Act of 1962 and Section 301 of the Trade Act of 1974 that may impact tariff rates; the majority of its products sold in the US are currently exempt from tariffs, and additional tariff increases or loss of exemptions would increase cost of goods sold and could reduce demand. On the Nanya investment made in March 2026, it warns that increases in the value of the investment could influence financial results in accordance with GAAP accounting in a manner that is not representative of its core business. — FY2026 · publ. 2026-08-17 · source ↗
  3. ReportedThen, after the fiscal year ended, two further agreements with an aggregate transaction price of $31.3 billion — one and a half times the whole of fiscal 2026 revenue, in two contracts. The balance sheet already shows the shape of it: $1,242 million of contract liabilities from customer advances and $1,500 million of refund liabilities from customer security deposits.
    Sandisk Corporation, Form 10-K FY2026 — the separation, financing, Nanya investment and share repurchase disclosures. Prior to 21 February 2025 Sandisk was wholly owned by Western Digital Corporation; on that date WDC distributed 116,035,464 shares, or 80.1%, of Sandisk's outstanding common stock to WDC holders at one-third of a share per WDC share, retaining 28,827,787 shares or 19.9%, and Sandisk began trading on the Nasdaq Global Select Market under SNDK on 24 February 2025. WDC has since disposed of shares through debt-for-equity exchanges in June 2025 and February 2026 and has announced it expects to monetise all remaining shares by the end of 2026. Subsequent to the separation Sandisk conducted a quantitative impairment analysis which indicated the carrying value of its reporting unit exceeded fair value, and recorded a goodwill impairment charge of $1.8 billion in the year ended 27 June 2025; no impairment was recorded in fiscal 2026. On 21 February 2025 Sandisk entered a Loan Agreement comprising a seven-year $2.0 billion Term Loan B facility and a five-year $1.5 billion revolving credit facility, borrowing $2.0 billion and making a net distribution payment of $1.5 billion to WDC; on 4 March 2026 it settled the remaining Term Loan principal in full using cash on hand, recognising a $46 million loss on debt extinguishment, and had drawn no amounts under the revolver as of 3 July 2026. In March 2026 Sandisk made an equity investment in Nanya Technology Corporation, a publicly traded entity with a readily determinable fair value; unrealised gains of $807 million for the year were recognised through the statement of operations and the marketable equity securities are subject to a statutory lock-up period of three years during which Sandisk is restricted from transferring or selling the shares, subject to limited exceptions under applicable Taiwanese law. On 30 April 2026 the board approved a $6.0 billion share repurchase programme and on 5 August 2026 an additional $14.0 billion programme; during the year ended 3 July 2026 Sandisk repurchased 3 million shares for an aggregate purchase price of $4.5 billion, with $1.5 billion remaining available at year end. Subsequent to the balance sheet date the Company entered into two additional New Business Model agreements with an aggregate transaction price of $31.3 billion, providing for customer purchase commitments for specified product volumes over multi-year periods supported by financial guarantees including cash deposits and other financial instruments. Sandisk also states it expects AI-driven demand to persist through calendar year 2027 and beyond, and that it anticipates increased capital investments in fiscal 2027 as it transitions to newer nodes. In September 2024 SanDisk China completed the sale of 80% of its equity interest in SanDisk Semiconductor (Shanghai) to JCET Management, resulting in a pre-tax gain of $34 million and leaving a 20% retained interest; the January 2025 Equity Transfer Agreement transferred WDC's interest in the Unis Venture, 48% owned by Sandisk and 52% by Unis, which markets and sells Sandisk products in China. — FY2026 · publ. 2026-08-17 · source ↗
  4. ReportedThe balance sheet already shows the shape of it: $1,242 million of contract liabilities from customer advances and $1,500 million of refund liabilities from customer security deposits. If this works, it is the most important thing about the company.
    Sandisk Corporation, Form 10-K FY2026 — consolidated statements of operations, balance sheets and cash flows, and the results-of-operations and liquidity discussion in Item 7. Revenue net $20,248 million against $7,355 million and $6,663 million in the two prior years, up 175%; cost of revenue $5,776 million (28.5% of revenue); gross profit $14,472 million (71.5%, up 4,100 basis points); research and development $1,328 million (6.6%); selling, general and administrative $676 million (3.3%); loss on debt extinguishment $46 million; business separation costs $25 million; total operating expenses $2,083 million; operating income $12,389 million (61.3%); gain on equity securities $808 million; interest income $70 million; interest expense $73 million; other expense $177 million; income before taxes $13,017 million; income tax expense $1,584 million at a 12% effective rate (against negative 11% and negative 34%); net income $11,433 million (56.5%) against losses of $1,641 million and $672 million. Basic EPS $77.78 and diluted $73.76, on 147 million basic and 155 million diluted weighted average shares. Revenue by end market: Datacenter $5,153 million, $960 million and $325 million; Edge $12,160 million, $4,127 million and $4,069 million; Consumer $2,935 million, $2,268 million and $2,269 million. Revenue by geography: Asia $14,241 million, Americas $4,275 million, EMEA $1,732 million. Datacenter revenue rose 437% with products sold up almost 120% on an exabyte basis and revenue per gigabyte up almost 150%; Edge rose 195% with exabytes up a high single-digit percentage and revenue per gigabyte up almost 180%; Consumer rose 29% with exabytes DOWN a mid-teens percentage and revenue per gigabyte up a low-fifties percentage; total products sold increased by a mid-teens percentage on an exabyte basis. Sales incentive and marketing programmes represented 11%, 19% and 19% of gross revenues in 2026, 2025 and 2024. Balance sheet at 3 July 2026: cash and cash equivalents $4,762 million, accounts receivable $4,708 million, inventories $2,698 million, total current assets $12,780 million, marketable equity securities $1,777 million, property plant and equipment net $674 million, notes receivable and investments in Flash Ventures $678 million, goodwill $4,994 million, total assets $22,507 million; refund liabilities $1,500 million (from $126 million), contract liabilities $849 million current and $393 million non-current, income tax payable $1,286 million, total current liabilities $5,581 million, long-term debt nil (from $1,829 million), total liabilities $6,771 million, treasury stock $4,537 million, retained earnings $9,649 million (from an accumulated deficit of $1,784 million), total shareholders' equity $15,736 million, 149 million shares issued and 146 million outstanding. Cash flows: operating activities provided $11,671 million against $84 million and a use of $309 million; investing used $1,386 million including $970 million of purchases of marketable equity securities, $275 million of net issuances related to Flash Ventures and $177 million of capital expenditures; financing used $7,001 million including $4.5 billion of share repurchases, $1.9 billion of Term Loan repayments and settlement and $630 million of taxes on vested stock awards. Cash conversion cycle 162 days (DSO 48, DIO 178, DPO 64). $2,879 million of cash was held outside the US. Contract liabilities were $1,242 million and refund liabilities $1,500 million under long-term agreements. Unrecognised tax benefits were approximately $323 million. Tax holidays in Malaysia expire at various dates during 2028 through 2031. Total material cash requirements were $11,760 million, of which Flash Ventures-related commitments were $6,559 million and purchase obligations and other commitments $4,902 million. — FY2026 · publ. 2026-08-17 · source ↗
Sources
Generated September 23, 2026